DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 181
2 members and 179 guests
GRN96WS6, Sal_the_man
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Favorite Routes and Conditions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Best place to practice
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

Best place to practice - August 22, 2007, 04:06 PM

I know this really isn't a route, so forgive me if I posted this in the wrong forum. But I just wanted to know where are some good places to practice my riding skills: turns, clutch work, weaves, etc.

I live in downtown DC, so I dont really have many sidestreets. And parking lots are pretty much nonexistent. so are there any huge parking lots that not a lot of cars use in Va or MD?

Thanks in advance
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
Semper Fi

August 22, 2007, 04:43 PM

Just ride around DC.. Perferably South East. That'll force you to learn weaving when you are gettin shot at. As for the clutch work. Well you'll get that when you gotta keep stoppin and goin cuz there are so many damn stop signs and lights. That's how i learned.

If you are white it helps out too..
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Lyman2134  
Unread
  (#3)
Suddenly Superstitious!!!

August 22, 2007, 04:43 PM

Dulles town center mall at night. I used to run the back side and follow the lane hugging the building from one end to the other. Nice, predictable, nobody around (Until secutiry sends you packing), and you can run a nice calm pace.

Find a mall after 9pm with lights. Many big parking lots in the far back are fine for basic drills.