DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 489
5 members and 484 guests
2blueyam, amit, CCS762ZX6, dubplaya, TNT
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Test and Tune

LinkBack Thread Tools
Engine ticking - should I worry?
Unread
  (#1)
Pedal faster

Engine ticking - should I worry? - June 18, 2007, 09:17 AM

Newbie here w/a mechanical question -- I have an Ď06 Ninja 250 with about 900 miles that I bought last month.

I havenít ridden in several days and decide last night just to start the bike up for a minute. When I first start it (no choke), the engine sounds very sluggish, like itíll stall out any moment. I waited a moment, it sounds like itís about to stall, I open the choke a bit Ė it dies. Swell; now Iíve flooded the engine. Try starting a couple of times with no luck, so I decide to wait a few minutes.

10 minutes later, come out and try again. This time the bike starts right up and runs at normal idle (around 1k+). But now Iím hearing an intermittent ticking sound. Crap. I wait and listen Ė itís not steady at first, but then as the engine idles for about 30 seconds the ticking goes from intermittent to steady. I gently revved it a few times and donít hear the ticking at higher RPM, but the sound is there as soon as the bike idles again.