DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 589
4 members and 585 guests
2blueyam, amit, CCS762ZX6, Sal_the_man
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Test and Tune

LinkBack Thread Tools
I need a mechanical mentor
Unread
  (#1)
Kat
Finally got a garage!

I need a mechanical mentor - May 27, 2014, 09:39 AM

I almost feel as if I should re-introduce myself because I haven't logged on for so long, but I see enough familiar names on here y'all might remember me. I've been riding since 2005 and I always felt more comfortable doing my own maintenance as long as it was basic enough. If I needed professional help, I always felt more comfortable getting a LESSON in how to do something rather than paying some mechanic to take my bike away from me and trust them to return it fixed. Maybe too many visits to Coleman's made me wary although I've gotten good service and Manassas Honda/Kawasaki.

My previous mentors are gone and I feel sort of lost in the whole "repairing my bike" realm. I had some life changes and I'm now living in an apartment without my garage full of tools, also, which makes doing my own maintenance nearly impossible. But my '05 Yamaha FZ6 now needs some maintenance and I need some help.