DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 526
8 members and 518 guests
beatle, CrazyMotorcycleGuy, GRN96WS6, HenryW, MPSniper, nootherids, Sal_the_man, Scot
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Test and Tune

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
Knee Draggin!

November 26, 2002, 07:30 PM

Well, I'm not a total expert but I did take a painting class back in college . . .
(Howie from the Fall Guy if anybody catches the reference!)

I don't think it should make a difference when sanding the repaired vs. undamaged sections, if the repairs were done properly, that is. If you have small pits/gouges, you can fill them with some primer filler. The best thing is to start out with a 180 grit and then probably finish with 220 before you spray the primer. You don't want too fine a finish before priming because the rough scratches give a good base to the primer to adhere to.

Prime it (a decent thick coat to start) and then spray a trace coat of some contrasting primer color after the base primer coat has completely dried (i.e. black if you use gray or red primer, or gray if you use black primer. A trace coat is just to speckle the entire surface with the contrasting color. The primer color should be based on what the finished color will be. Don't use black primer if your finished color will be white, for example.