DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 556
7 members and 549 guests
2blueyam, beatle, CCS762ZX6, legendindisguise, Sal_the_man, Speed3, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Test and Tune

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
Licensed Rider

April 21, 2004, 12:13 PM

Aye I'm fairly new to the riding world (about 3 years now)...I'm thinking about changing my spark plugs..is it in any way difficult?...judging from teh manual, it doesn't seem like a big deal, but I don't wanna open it up and find out I'm bout to mess some stuff up....I've done a bunch of other routine maintenance, but when it comes to the electrical..I get hesitant...any advice...oh, I have a 2000 Ninja ZX-9R
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to kdybread  
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ

April 21, 2004, 01:04 PM

See SteveZX9 for details. SHouldn't be much different from my ZX6.

1. Shut off the gas, disconnect the gas line from the shut off, remove the tank. Try to use up all the gas in the tank before you do this. I did it with a full tank and it was a heavy bitch to pull off by yourself without scratching up stuff.

2. Remove the air filter and filter box. Replace the filter while you're in there.

All the spark plugs are close to the front of the engine. They can be a real pain in the ass to turn and pull out.

I'm sure someone can give more indepth instructions that this.

'00 Kawasaki Ninja ZX6-R
'03 Honda XR100R
Xbox: ThrustinJ
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to ThrustinJZX6  
Unread
  (#3)
Knee Draggin!

April 21, 2004, 01:36 PM