DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 528
3 members and 525 guests
CrazyMotorcycleGuy, dubplaya, GRN96WS6
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Riding Tips

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

December 23, 2002, 03:05 PM

Anyone have any tips?

"I've learned that whatever hits the fan will not be evenly distributed."
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
Knee Draggin!

December 23, 2002, 03:42 PM

Try rev-matching when you down shift Rev-matching really helps you to make smooth down shifts. My bike has a lot of engine braking and rev-matching helps me downshift without the bike jerking me forward and when I'm riding aggressively it also helps me to prevent the rear wheel from locking up before turning in.

Rev-matching is basically "blipping" the throttle right before you down shift so that the engine speed matches the higher rpm of the gear that you are going down into.

For example, you are cruising along at 6000rpm (25 mph) in 2nd gear. Let's say that to maintain 25mph in 1st gear your engine will be turning at 8000rpm. So to make a smooth transition into 1st gear your engine should be turning at least 8000rpm so that you won't feel that jerky downshift from the sudden change in engine speed.

So when you downshift you pull the clutch in and rev/blip the throttle real quick before you downshift so that the engine speed will match the higher revs of the gear that you are about to downshift into (>8000rpm). Then you make the down shift and let the clutch out slowly.