DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 496
2 members and 494 guests
2blueyam, beatle
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Riding Tips

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

March 19, 2004, 09:13 AM

So what are some things you guys would recommend for learning how to modulate the throttle? I keep finding myself overreving accidentally when trying to roll into first gear.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ

March 19, 2004, 09:23 AM

practice practice practice. I don't know how safe it is to trust some peice of technology to teach you.

I guess it could be like training wheels.

How much are you over reving??

'00 Kawasaki Ninja ZX6-R
'03 Honda XR100R
Xbox: ThrustinJ
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to ThrustinJZX6  
Unread
  (#3)
GP Champ

March 19, 2004, 09:35 AM

what is the world coming to when i'm agreeing with tj again.

he's right - there i said it. wow that was painful.

practice is the only way that you'll get the feel of your throttle. maybe go to a parking lot or a side street where you can try taking off slow without having to worry about traffic.
Unread
  (#4)

March 19, 2004, 10:05 AM

Yeah, I've been practicing in font of my house. No cars parked on the side, and it's a big straight away.

I'll start out steady at like 2 grand (too much?), and find myself getting up to 4 grand and having to let off constantly. I figured practice would help.

What are you guys revving to to get rolling in first?
Unread
  (#5)
GP Champ

March 19, 2004, 10:15 AM