DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 528
1 members and 527 guests
CrazyMotorcycleGuy
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Brand Specific > Ducati

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
pax
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

May 23, 2004, 04:12 PM

Hey all, I'm new here and I've been looking around for my first bike in a 2002 or 03 Monster 620. I read that this isn't such a bad bike for a beginner because it's light and not too powerful. I pretty much love the Monster aesthetics -- I think they are pretty damn sexy bikes. Plus, I like the standard seating position more than the full on crotch rocket seated position.

1) One concern I have is that I'm 240lbs, 6'2". Will the 620 be enough power or will I get bored with it quickly?

2) Buy a new bike or used?

I sat on an 800 yesterday at Winchester Motorsports and I could flat foot both feet no problem. I actually have an opportunity to get a red 2002 Monster 620 (2000 miles) for around $4000.

Thoughts?
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to pax Send a message via AIM to pax  
Unread
  (#2)
Loves Sporking

May 23, 2004, 07:12 PM

You're on the right track, Pax. I think you might be sick of the listless 620 after only a few months. Sure it'll carry you, but at your size, you won't be overwhelmed by the 800. All of the Monsters are small. Good choice if you dig it. Comes down to the dineros. Shop around.