DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 602
2 members and 600 guests
beatle, Sal_the_man
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Brand Specific > Suzuki

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
Got my Permit

August 10, 2003, 07:02 PM

Right on the brink of buying my first bike. Found a 2001 gsxr600 w/ low miles, but a friend advised that those are notorious for coming up with problems and issues. Any comments on this?

-Charles

'01 GSX-R 600
With TONS of character
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to cecald  
Unread
  (#2)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

August 10, 2003, 08:53 PM

No they are not notorious for problems. There are a few cases of the the Cam Chain Tensioner failing, but this has been a problem that has followed the GSX-R line for quite some time. It's an easy fix.

The 2000 750 had a problem with it's 2nd gear, but they had corrected this issue by the next model year.

2000 GSX-R750Y
Wise men ask questions...
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#3)
Got my Permit

August 10, 2003, 09:29 PM

thanks for the advice!

'01 GSX-R 600
With TONS of character
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to cecald  
Unread
  (#4)
Serial Killer

August 10, 2003, 09:40 PM

One of the biggest known problems with the Gixxer 600 is that it IS a Suduki. The 2001 gixxer 600 has been known to have a faulty flux capacitor, as well as a misaligned trunk valves and gigaswitches. You'd be better off buying a Honda

I'm a lead farmer, motherfucker!!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to Diggy Send a message via AIM to Diggy  
Unread
  (#5)
boxing twins

August 10, 2003, 10:06 PM