DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 529
2 members and 527 guests
davidcycle, dubplaya
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Brand Specific > Suzuki

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
pax
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

May 24, 2004, 08:50 PM

I was very close to buying a Ducati, but I have managed to see the light in terms of the repair costs and maintenance costs. Plus, the only bike I was considering from Ducati was a used one that ended up being a fixer-upper and this is not what I am looking for in a bike. The guy selling the Ducati even told me that the SV650 would be better for me for a couple reasons. I am a big dude at 240lbs and he told me that Japanese bikes are made even better than their automobile counterparts.

This will be my first bike, I like the standard style, and I don't think the SV650 will have too much power for me.

I'm looking for some othe reasons to buy one. I'd like to hear from other SV650 owners. I may even buy new. I kind of got turned off to used bikes after my experience tonight.
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to pax Send a message via AIM to pax  
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ

May 24, 2004, 09:33 PM

Don't worry about getting used. Japanese bikes are pretty bullet proof for the most part. I am also a big dude and an SV will be plenty quick and will accomodate you well.
If you buy new, you will take a bath on it when you start thinking of plans to get another bike. New is a great way to go if you plan on keeping a bike for a long time. Most first bikes are on the chopping block within a year.