DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 611
5 members and 606 guests
2blueyam, GsxrBulldog, Nobrains, Speed3, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Brand Specific > Yamaha

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Velocity stacks on an R6 anyone?
Unread
  (#1)
USSA
 
ArrrSV's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,369
Join Date: September 23, 2008
Location: Manassas
Velocity stacks on an R6 anyone? - May 18, 2009, 06:31 PM

So while my bike is disabled and all apart i'm thinking about putting some graves velocity stacks on it and sync the throttle bodies. Just curious as to everyone else's experience with them and how satisfied they are with the performance. I'm probably going to put them on all 4 chambers rather than 1 and 4....cons?


I Have Nothing To Contribute.

Chicks are like jobs...all the good ones are taken and they can't pay you enough to do the ones that are available.
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to ArrrSV  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Say Jur Oh
 
Seijirou's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,809
Join Date: April 27, 2003
Location: Herndon, VA
May 18, 2009, 06:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrrSixed View Post
So while my bike is disabled and all apart i'm thinking about putting some graves velocity stacks on it and sync the throttle bodies. Just curious as to everyone else's experience with them and how satisfied they are with the performance. I'm probably going to put them on all 4 chambers rather than 1 and 4....cons?
You want staggered stacks whenever possible. They interfere with eachother when they're all level.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stillie View Post
I'm not saying this site has a bunch of gay dudes on it but a few of you definitely lack a bumpstop on the sexuality gate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stillie View Post
Here is my anus! Deliver thy penis unto it!


Greg "BamBam" Walker
September 11th 2009
You are missed
Godspeed
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Seijirou  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
USSA
 
ArrrSV's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,369
Join Date: September 23, 2008
Location: Manassas
May 18, 2009, 06:44 PM

I hear that is just sucks too much air in the low RPMs and loses power cause it's so lean but they also say that the top end is rediculous. I also saw where some would just order 2 more factory short stacks and replace the tall ones for a better curve.


I Have Nothing To Contribute.

Chicks are like jobs...all the good ones are taken and they can't pay you enough to do the ones that are available.
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to ArrrSV  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Say Jur Oh
 
Seijirou's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,809
Join Date: April 27, 2003
Location: Herndon, VA
May 18, 2009, 06:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrrSixed View Post
I hear that is just sucks too much air in the low RPMs and loses power cause it's so lean but they also say that the top end is rediculous. I also saw where some would just order 2 more factory short stacks and replace the tall ones for a better curve.
The lenght of the stack won't make it draw more air.

To an extent, a different stack length will change the air velocity. With more velocity you have greater pressure drop across the venturi for a carbureted motor. That will draw more gas. If it's fuel injected there won't be an effect.
Also increased airspeed will atomize the fuel better, better atomization simply makes the motor run better.

All other things being equal, longer stacks move the powerband lower in the rev range, shorter moves it up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stillie View Post
I'm not saying this site has a bunch of gay dudes on it but a few of you definitely lack a bumpstop on the sexuality gate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stillie View Post
Here is my anus! Deliver thy penis unto it!


Greg "BamBam" Walker
September 11th 2009
You are missed
Godspeed
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Seijirou  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
Derpentine Dealer
 
OrangeShirtDude's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,464
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Location: "Going Bonkers"
May 18, 2009, 06:55 PM

Why do you want to bother with stacks? You have to pay a lot and really get very little HP increase.


How's my posting? Please direct all concerns and inquiries to DCSBN's chief content manager, Hollywood, via PM.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
USSA
 
ArrrSV's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,369
Join Date: September 23, 2008
Location: Manassas
May 18, 2009, 07:58 PM

Just for the experience, so I can say that they arn't worth the effort.


I Have Nothing To Contribute.

Chicks are like jobs...all the good ones are taken and they can't pay you enough to do the ones that are available.
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to ArrrSV  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
Derpentine Dealer
 
OrangeShirtDude's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,464
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Location: "Going Bonkers"
May 18, 2009, 08:23 PM

Get some dyno pulls before and after. Let's see what you get out of them. I may be wrong.


How's my posting? Please direct all concerns and inquiries to DCSBN's chief content manager, Hollywood, via PM.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
done for now...
 
steele11's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,072
Join Date: August 3, 2008
May 18, 2009, 08:25 PM

I don't have an r6 but my factory pro velocity stacks gave me 4hp and yes i dynoed before then after install. It was well worth it fo me, oh and their was no power loss anywhere and gained from about 4500rpm on.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
Derpentine Dealer
 
OrangeShirtDude's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,464
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Location: "Going Bonkers"
May 18, 2009, 08:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by steele11 View Post
I don't have an r6 but my factory pro velocity stacks gave me 4hp and yes i dynoed before then after install. It was well worth it fo me, oh and their was no power loss anywhere and gained from about 4500rpm on.
Excluding Dyno runs, how much did those 4 hp cost you?


How's my posting? Please direct all concerns and inquiries to DCSBN's chief content manager, Hollywood, via PM.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
done for now...
 
steele11's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,072
Join Date: August 3, 2008
May 18, 2009, 08:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeShirtDude View Post
Excluding Dyno runs, how much did those 4 hp cost you?
$200
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
Derpentine Dealer
 
OrangeShirtDude's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,464
Join Date: April 6, 2007
Location: "Going Bonkers"
May 18, 2009, 08:36 PM

Did you have to remap? $200 is actually around my threshold, and I'd be tempted to do it. Even more so if I found some used stacks someone was letting go for cheap.


How's my posting? Please direct all concerns and inquiries to DCSBN's chief content manager, Hollywood, via PM.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
done for now...
 
steele11's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,072
Join Date: August 3, 2008
May 18, 2009, 08:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeShirtDude View Post
Did you have to remap? $200 is actually around my threshold, and I'd be tempted to do it. Even more so if I found some used stacks someone was letting go for cheap.

I eventually remapped but that was after a full exhaust to replace my slip on. I don't think that leaving it alone would have hurt. It didn't seem to change the a/f much, but even so 1/2 hour should be all you'd need.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#13)
USSA
 
ArrrSV's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,369
Join Date: September 23, 2008
Location: Manassas
May 18, 2009, 09:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by steele11 View Post
I don't have an r6 but my factory pro velocity stacks gave me 4hp and yes i dynoed before then after install. It was well worth it fo me, oh and their was no power loss anywhere and gained from about 4500rpm on.

Did you do the 2 or 4 setup?


I Have Nothing To Contribute.

Chicks are like jobs...all the good ones are taken and they can't pay you enough to do the ones that are available.
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to ArrrSV  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#14)
GP Racer
 
boostdacr's Avatar
 
Posts: 994
Join Date: February 21, 2007
May 18, 2009, 11:10 PM

What are you tuning your bike with?


09 R1
08 Jeep SRT8
06 F350
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#15)
T.R.I.T.D.H
 
TalkofDC's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,151
Join Date: June 9, 2008
Location: Whoodbridge?
May 19, 2009, 11:37 AM

talk to Freq. He put some on his R6.


What do you value more? Life or Image?

"I don't ride, I usually just sit around wearing a tshirt and my icon back protector and talk shit about anyone who does not have a liter bike. That's how you can pick me out of a crowd. I also wear a red tophat."
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.