DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 551
5 members and 546 guests
HenryW, nootherids, Sal_the_man, TonUp, Triple X
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
3D Modeling
Unread
  (#1)
Instructor
 
storysunfolding's Avatar
 
Posts: 600
Join Date: May 14, 2008
Location: Reston
3D Modeling - April 27, 2012, 09:49 AM

For you tech wizards out there. I need to go a quick 3D mock up of a room. What's the quickest easiest way to put it together? Google Sketch up? Blender?

It's been a long time since I used CAD software and I don't need anything too precise for now.


Stupidity is an elemental force, and I respect that. ATGATT
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ
 
HellraiserinDC's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,602
Join Date: October 24, 2011
Location: District of Corruption
April 27, 2012, 09:54 AM

Yeah use Sketchup or depends on if you've got a camera handy you could also use 123D Catch by Autodesk which can make 3D models from pictures.

Autodesk 123D - 123D Catch turn photos into 3D models
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
GP Champ
 
HellraiserinDC's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,602
Join Date: October 24, 2011
Location: District of Corruption
April 27, 2012, 09:54 AM

Besides if you're trying to make a 3D room, you should be using Revit, not AutoCAD these days.
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Instructor
 
storysunfolding's Avatar
 
Posts: 600
Join Date: May 14, 2008
Location: Reston
April 27, 2012, 10:02 AM

No camera. Thanks- I'll try to mock it up in Sketchup. Odd using something without so many keyboard functions.

Like I said- it's been awhile since I've done something in AutoCAD, going on 6 years now. And for a short period of time, silverscreen (Go U.Va. I guess).


Stupidity is an elemental force, and I respect that. ATGATT
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
AMA Superbike Champ
 
Posts: 725
Join Date: August 12, 2003
Location: Woodbridge
April 27, 2012, 10:03 AM

sweethome3d


#1 Machine: Suzuki GS500K2 / Bridgestone package
#2 Machine: BMW G310R / Michelin package - sooooo light and stable it's funny
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
GP Champ
 
HellraiserinDC's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,602
Join Date: October 24, 2011
Location: District of Corruption
April 27, 2012, 10:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by storysunfolding View Post
No camera. Thanks- I'll try to mock it up in Sketchup. Odd using something without so many keyboard functions.

Like I said- it's been awhile since I've done something in AutoCAD, going on 6 years now. And for a short period of time, silverscreen (Go U.Va. I guess).
You wouldn't even know what AutoCAD looked like anymore
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
GP Champ
 
nootherids's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,662
Join Date: January 12, 2011
Location: Woodbridge, VA
April 27, 2012, 08:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlkOnBlk600r View Post
sweethome3d
That is looking fucking awesome! I tried using SketchUp to mock up my new house that is being built right now but as awesome as it was it was a bit too cumbersome when I was actually trying to draw the walls at the right width and stuff. Things as simple as making a window felt way too complicated. This app you mentioned seems to be really straight forward and I'm digging that ability to make realistic photos right in the app.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
konichiwa bitches
 
lqdgrphcs's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,968
Join Date: April 14, 2005
Location: Over to the left, up a little more....right there!!....FFX
April 27, 2012, 09:32 PM

SketchUp should do ya right if you have the time to get used to it. If it really becomes painfull let me know and I might be able to mock something up for for you on Monday in 3DS Max.....

My weekend is shot with mid-term deadlines.


XBOX 360 - Neros Lament

"I'm pretty sure God would consider it a sin not to glorify that ass."

http://www.mrsimcard.com/
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to lqdgrphcs Send a message via AIM to lqdgrphcs  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
Got my Permit
 
Posts: 46
Join Date: April 25, 2012
Location: Alexandria
April 27, 2012, 10:34 PM

Love Autocad. Then again I'm on it everyday. Don't knock autocad's ability to extrude. Mocking up a room layout should take you every bit of 30 seconds on CAD. Lqd, are you proficient on 3dsmax? are you using gamer or design?
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
konichiwa bitches
 
lqdgrphcs's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,968
Join Date: April 14, 2005
Location: Over to the left, up a little more....right there!!....FFX
April 28, 2012, 01:22 AM

Jank,

Yes I am proficient in Max. I have been using it for years and I teach it part time. I am using 3DS Max 2012....not design. Loves me some 3D.

Leslie


XBOX 360 - Neros Lament

"I'm pretty sure God would consider it a sin not to glorify that ass."

http://www.mrsimcard.com/
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to lqdgrphcs Send a message via AIM to lqdgrphcs  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
AMA Superbike Champ
 
Posts: 725
Join Date: August 12, 2003
Location: Woodbridge
April 28, 2012, 06:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nootherids View Post
That is looking fucking awesome! I tried using SketchUp to mock up my new house that is being built right now but as awesome as it was it was a bit too cumbersome when I was actually trying to draw the walls at the right width and stuff. Things as simple as making a window felt way too complicated. This app you mentioned seems to be really straight forward and I'm digging that ability to make realistic photos right in the app.
Yeah, just scan a pic of your floor plan, import it, and draw on the lines. Can even put furniture in it to see how it fits if you have a weird space.


#1 Machine: Suzuki GS500K2 / Bridgestone package
#2 Machine: BMW G310R / Michelin package - sooooo light and stable it's funny
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
GP Champ
 
nootherids's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,662
Join Date: January 12, 2011
Location: Woodbridge, VA
April 28, 2012, 10:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlkOnBlk600r View Post
Yeah, just scan a pic of your floor plan, import it, and draw on the lines. Can even put furniture in it to see how it fits if you have a weird space.
^^^ Yeah, that was my problem with sketchup, cause I do have a weird space layout. My rooms aren't exactly rectangular like usual. So it was not easy at all.

This is how far I got with scketchup. And this is on my 4th or 5th try and I'm still missing all windows and doors and the entire 3rd floor.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Eagles Pointe Whole Home Project.jpg (248.6 KB, 8 views)
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.