DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 542
5 members and 537 guests
2blueyam, Diggy, GRN96WS6, nootherids, Sal_the_man
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
802.11n on Fios
Unread
  (#1)
Eddie would go ...
 
Dutch's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,507
Join Date: April 16, 2006
802.11n on Fios - October 6, 2011, 09:11 PM

Anyone running an 802.11n router attached to their FIOS 802.11g device?

FIOS still has the n in testing and missed their August date. n is only avb if you attach an n router to the existing FIOS router

anyone?

?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
No one gives a fuck about your puff out your chest bravado.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Your Ad Here
 
Heist's Avatar
 
Posts: 32,592
Join Date: August 25, 2008
Location: Washington, D.C.
October 6, 2011, 09:32 PM

I've been wondering about this too. I have FIOS but their G router. Wanted to bump to N.



“Any man who tries to be good all the time is bound to come to ruin among the great number who are not good. Hence a Prince who wants to keep his authority must learn how not to be good, and use that knowledge, or refrain from using it, as necessity requires”.

- Nicolo Machiavelli 1469-1527

  Facebook Page MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
#swag
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,213
Join Date: August 21, 2003
Location: Fairfax
October 7, 2011, 12:13 AM

Yes. Airport extreme running in my house.


  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Nick  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Popplers!
 
karrotx's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,700
Join Date: July 25, 2007
Location: Omicron Persei 8
October 7, 2011, 03:46 AM

Linksys E2000, works well.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
It's all good..
 
UUBusa's Avatar
 
Posts: 713
Join Date: October 1, 2004
Location: Sterling, Va
October 7, 2011, 06:10 AM

Couple DLINK DIR655's


Paul J
03 Busa
08 150R sumo
10 SXV 550
06 GSX-R1000

dprams1 "Really guy, really, you strapped your bike to the top of your car. Wow, wow, really"

Stillie: "The day you get on motard is the day you write of society as a whole. They are the ones living incomplete. Fuck them. "

PSN: paulj70

Greg "BamBam" Walker
September 11th 2009

http://www.rememberinggregwalker.com/index.html
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to UUBusa Send a message via AIM to UUBusa  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
starbucks ADV rider
 
nani's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,484
Join Date: June 6, 2006
Location: silver spring
October 7, 2011, 06:35 AM

any N access point should work
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
What are we doing here???
 
Posts: 1,124
Join Date: June 25, 2007
Location: Up sh*t creek. Where the hell is my paddle?
October 7, 2011, 07:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by karrotx View Post
Linksys E2000, works well.
Same here. No problems.


Beauty and The Beast

USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
Я - Ребенок Люциферов
 
vonstallin's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,829
Join Date: November 2, 2006
Location: Wash DC: (2 min from Adams Morgan)
October 7, 2011, 08:24 AM

Over all you guys like your FIOS?

Im still in the dark ages with DSL 3Mb or 5Mb...cant remember.
Verizon constantly calling to upgrade but not sure i want the extra expense. Also not sure about reliability.


The Nightmare of Summit Point
WERA Nov# 325 / CCS # 326
2016 ZX10R ABS (Street) | 2011 ZX10RR(Race)
2011 R6 (Street & Track) | 2009 WR250F
GunnRunnaz.com|GR on FaceBook | www.2666ad.com|
  Facebook Page MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via MSN to vonstallin  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
Eddie would go ...
 
Dutch's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,507
Join Date: April 16, 2006
October 7, 2011, 08:28 AM

very reliable, at least for me - I think its been out once in the past 2.5 years and it lasted 20 mins

cable was much worse as far as reliability


Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
No one gives a fuck about your puff out your chest bravado.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
Dude, playing the dude! K
 
clowe1243's Avatar
 
Posts: 546
Join Date: May 21, 2009
October 7, 2011, 11:05 AM

I have had the N router for a over a year now. Are they just coming out with a new version?

The G has plenty on bandwidth, no need to update unless you are building ACL's or streaming.

Remember, your uplink to VZ will always be your bottleneck.
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to clowe1243  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
Popplers!
 
karrotx's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,700
Join Date: July 25, 2007
Location: Omicron Persei 8
October 7, 2011, 11:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by clowe1243 View Post
I have had the N router for a over a year now. Are they just coming out with a new version?

The G has plenty on bandwidth, no need to update unless you are building ACL's or streaming.

Remember, your uplink to VZ will always be your bottleneck.
The antenna or chipset on their G router is complete garbage. Standing next to the router with no other interference I get 14.9Mbps and a response time, to an EC2 server in NOVA, of 92ms. Using ethernet I get 30Mbps and a response time of 30ms to the same server. Using the Linksys e2000 with N, I get 30Mbps and a response time of ~40ms; WPA2.

So yes, on paper G's speed is 54Mbps; but for some reason the Verizon routers are garbage and don't get anywhere near that speed; I've had three over 4 years with the same problem.

You can purchase any N access point but they will probably be more expensive. If you purchase a cheapo N router, like the E2000, you'll save $60. And, If you know how to set it up you can pass all of the traffic through as if it was an access point. That means the DHCP is handled by the fios router and you're on the same subnet; you won't run into the issue where you can't access a machine plugged into the fios router while you're on the e2000's wifi.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
What are we doing here???
 
Posts: 1,124
Join Date: June 25, 2007
Location: Up sh*t creek. Where the hell is my paddle?
October 7, 2011, 01:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by karrotx View Post
The antenna or chipset on their G router is complete garbage.
This is why I bought my own router.


Beauty and The Beast

USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#13)
Eddie would go ...
 
Dutch's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,507
Join Date: April 16, 2006
October 7, 2011, 02:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by karrotx View Post
The antenna or chipset on their G router is complete garbage. Standing next to the router with no other interference I get 14.9Mbps and a response time, to an EC2 server in NOVA, of 92ms. Using ethernet I get 30Mbps and a response time of 30ms to the same server. Using the Linksys e2000 with N, I get 30Mbps and a response time of ~40ms; WPA2.

So yes, on paper G's speed is 54Mbps; but for some reason the Verizon routers are garbage and don't get anywhere near that speed; I've had three over 4 years with the same problem.

You can purchase any N access point but they will probably be more expensive. If you purchase a cheapo N router, like the E2000, you'll save $60. And, If you know how to set it up you can pass all of the traffic through as if it was an access point. That means the DHCP is handled by the fios router and you're on the same subnet; you won't run into the issue where you can't access a machine plugged into the fios router while you're on the e2000's wifi.
^ this plus the n router should give me better range/coverage

any thoughts on this cheap n router?

Newegg.com - EnGenius ESR1221N Wireless N Router IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11g/n


Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
No one gives a fuck about your puff out your chest bravado.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#14)
What are we doing here???
 
Posts: 1,124
Join Date: June 25, 2007
Location: Up sh*t creek. Where the hell is my paddle?
October 8, 2011, 07:09 PM

Spend a few bucks more, you can get a better one.

Newegg.com - Recertified: Linksys E2000-RM Gigabit Advanced Wireless Router IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab, IEEE 802.11a/b/g, IEEE802.11n


Beauty and The Beast

USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#15)
Licensed Rider
 
Patracer's Avatar
 
Posts: 128
Join Date: November 27, 2010
Location: Leesburg, VA
October 8, 2011, 08:15 PM

I have the E2000 with Fios, had a D-Link n route before the lighting fried it. I have not had any issues. Up to 8 wireless devices connected when the boy's are home with girl freinds, 6 hardwired devices as well.


So many toys, so little time
'09 Ducati 1198S
'05 Corvette
'97 Mastercraft
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.