DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 588
3 members and 585 guests
GRN96WS6, Scot, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Best Way to Connect SoundBar?
Unread
  (#1)
i suck at the introweb
 
short_mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,322
Join Date: April 29, 2009
Location: Nap Town, MD
Best Way to Connect SoundBar? - December 15, 2014, 12:53 AM

Ok so I picked up an entire new home theater system. TV, blue-ray, soundbar w/wireless sub, even switched to fios.

Questions is what would be the proper (or best) way of connecting the soundbar system?

I thought all hdmi to TV then optical cable to soundbar?

But then someone told me hdmi to soundbar then hdmi to TV, however there is only 1 hdmi input and 1 hdmi output on the soundbar. So how would I get all devices linked to TV and soundbar? fios box, blue-ray, game console, etc.? there are 4 hdmi inputs on the TV.


Never be afraid that your life will end, only be afraid that it will never begin!

You Learn when your young, and understand when your older!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
↓ dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ ↓
 
Dark's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,213
Join Date: March 10, 2008
December 15, 2014, 05:37 AM

If the soundbar only offers one passthrough connection then yes, connect it via optical cable to the TV and use your TV to switch inputs.


-Ryan
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
Licensed Rider
 
Flaus's Avatar
 
Posts: 220
Join Date: June 1, 2010
Location: Gaithersburg
December 15, 2014, 06:56 AM

Check is your soundbar and TV are compatible with ARC (audio return channel). That way, you can plug everything into your TV, and run a single HDMI to the soundbar . The TV will control the volume and power of the soundbar.


'06 Yamaha R6 50th Anniversary
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
opossum puncher
 
zx6rfool's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,826
Join Date: June 9, 2003
Location: Winchester
December 15, 2014, 07:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark View Post
If the soundbar only offers one passthrough connection then yes, connect it via optical cable to the TV and use your TV to switch inputs.
Yep this is what I did.


-
Attack Life! It's going to kill you anyway.

08 Z1000

Go Hokies!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to zx6rfool  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
Parkin lot pimpin'
 
EndoSJ3's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,855
Join Date: September 26, 2008
Location: Fairfax
December 15, 2014, 09:46 AM

All newer TVs with HDMI will be able to strip the audio out of the connection and send it out to a different device. Hook everything up HDMI to the TV and take an Optical cable from TV down to Soundbar. No matter what is on the TV, the soundbar will work with it. Keeps it simple for when other people are using your stuff.


2013 Kawasaki ZX-6R - back at it again
2005 Kawasaki ZX-6R (636) Lots o' Mods - SOLD


2013 Ford F-150 Ecoboost (Toy Haulin)
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to EndoSJ3  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
↓ dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ ↓
 
Dark's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,213
Join Date: March 10, 2008
December 15, 2014, 12:24 PM

Some televisions require that you specify whether or not to send audio out the optical port. Just an FYI.


-Ryan
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
i suck at the introweb
 
short_mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,322
Join Date: April 29, 2009
Location: Nap Town, MD
December 15, 2014, 12:41 PM

Hum? Well I know the soundbar has ARC as I was reading the manual trying to figure this out (which didn't really give info how it works), but not sure about TV. All brand new in box. TV is vizio m-series, soundbar is Samsung.

My goal is to "set it and forget it." I want everything to turn on when the TV is on, and hopefully volume up and down with TV remote. I hate having 18 remotes. Would like to just use version remote and blue ray remote when needed.


Never be afraid that your life will end, only be afraid that it will never begin!

You Learn when your young, and understand when your older!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
Stop light racer...
 
pnbell's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,245
Join Date: May 30, 2012
Location: A Fjord in Norway
December 15, 2014, 02:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by short_mike View Post
I thought all hdmi to TV then optical cable to soundbar?
You have it right.

Keeps it simple, so you're not changing the input constantly... and yes, the sound bar volume will work with your TV/Cable remote


- Norway Daily, 90' VFR750, V4 Touring Beast
- USA Daily, 08' Versys - Urban Assault vehicle
- Toy, 02' Ducati 900ss - Loud and angry noises
- Toy, 89' FZR600 - Raw Inline Deathbox
- Project, 91' CB250 - Goal: lightweight city bike
- Project, 79' CB350 - Finally runs, now to finish

- Sold, Red 94' VS800 - Loud as F@*$
* R.I.P. Blue 06' SV650, murdered by DC!
* R.I.P. Black 98' FZR600, murdered by DC!
- Sold, Red 81' GS650
- Sold, Black 81' CM400T
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
↓ dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ ↓
 
Dark's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,213
Join Date: March 10, 2008
December 15, 2014, 04:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by short_mike View Post
Hum? Well I know the soundbar has ARC as I was reading the manual trying to figure this out (which didn't really give info how it works), but not sure about TV. All brand new in box. TV is vizio m-series, soundbar is Samsung.

My goal is to "set it and forget it." I want everything to turn on when the TV is on, and hopefully volume up and down with TV remote. I hate having 18 remotes. Would like to just use version remote and blue ray remote when needed.
Easiest for the remote would be to pick up a universal (I love our Logitech Touch).

We have certain 'modes';
-the TV mode turns on the receiver, tv and cable box
-the Apple TV mode turns on the receiver, tv and 'wakes' the apple tv
-the music mode turns on just the receiver

Each 'mode' also sets the proper input on the receiver. All of this is done with a single button press (touch).


-Ryan
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
Groping is a skill...
 
turkishexpress's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,997
Join Date: May 3, 2008
Location: Chicagoland
December 15, 2014, 04:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaus View Post
Check is your soundbar and TV are compatible with ARC (audio return channel). That way, you can plug everything into your TV, and run a single HDMI to the soundbar . The TV will control the volume and power of the soundbar.
This is how I run my 51" soundbar/woofer/speakers and it's supposed to be the highest quality.


2015 KTM Super Duke 1290 R
2013 Victory Vision Tour
K7 Gixxer 600 - Track Only
RnR Cycles Touched & Tuned


I grope suckaz!!! -
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
Groping is a skill...
 
turkishexpress's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,997
Join Date: May 3, 2008
Location: Chicagoland
December 15, 2014, 04:16 PM

Also if you use the ARC mode your TV remote will automatically control your soundbar as well. It's the best way to go if you want just set it and forget it.


2015 KTM Super Duke 1290 R
2013 Victory Vision Tour
K7 Gixxer 600 - Track Only
RnR Cycles Touched & Tuned


I grope suckaz!!! -
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
i suck at the introweb
 
short_mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,322
Join Date: April 29, 2009
Location: Nap Town, MD
December 15, 2014, 06:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by turkishexpress View Post
Also if you use the ARC mode your TV remote will automatically control your soundbar as well. It's the best way to go if you want just set it and forget it.
should the tv have an hdmi output?


Never be afraid that your life will end, only be afraid that it will never begin!

You Learn when your young, and understand when your older!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#13)
i suck at the introweb
 
short_mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,322
Join Date: April 29, 2009
Location: Nap Town, MD
December 15, 2014, 08:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by turkishexpress View Post
Also if you use the ARC mode your TV remote will automatically control your soundbar as well. It's the best way to go if you want just set it and forget it.
nevermind i read the tv manual and it does have arc mode. however the soundbar only has 1 hdmi input and 1 output, so how would this work with multiple devices? blueray, verizon box, game, etc? I want them all to play through the soundbar as soon as I turn the TV on.


Never be afraid that your life will end, only be afraid that it will never begin!

You Learn when your young, and understand when your older!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#14)
Groping is a skill...
 
turkishexpress's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,997
Join Date: May 3, 2008
Location: Chicagoland
December 15, 2014, 08:51 PM

Once you connect that one soundbar input to the TV ARC output anything you switch to (and that is connected to the TV inputs) will automatically output to the soundbar.


2015 KTM Super Duke 1290 R
2013 Victory Vision Tour
K7 Gixxer 600 - Track Only
RnR Cycles Touched & Tuned


I grope suckaz!!! -
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#15)
Groping is a skill...
 
turkishexpress's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,997
Join Date: May 3, 2008
Location: Chicagoland
December 15, 2014, 08:52 PM

For example I have my Apple TV, satellite unit, and PS4 connected to the three hdmi inputs on my TV and the soundbar connected to the ARC hdmi input/output and voila.


2015 KTM Super Duke 1290 R
2013 Victory Vision Tour
K7 Gixxer 600 - Track Only
RnR Cycles Touched & Tuned


I grope suckaz!!! -
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.