DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 842
3 members and 839 guests
2blueyam, CrazyMotorcycleGuy, nootherids
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
100% Kawasaki Biased
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: April 18, 2005
Location: Catharpin
June 7, 2005, 03:19 PM

I have an older lexus es300 that has a check engine light on, I found the list of codes and their meanings off of the internet but now I cannot find anywhere that will read the codes for free. The car is obd2 i think, i used to be able to get the light to blink the codes at me on a previous older car i had with a paperclip but this one will not. I have tried advance auto and fairfax auto but their machines will not plug up to my circular connector. The car is due to get emissions and i think it will fail if i do not remedy this, Thanks for your help worst case i just pay the $80 to have the lexus dealer do it.


You can live in your car, but you can't race your house.

'07 ZX-10R - 156 RWHP/182 MPH
'09 KX450F - VCHSS 29F
'85 ZL-900 Eliminator
'01 Ninja 250 (Sold)
'06 636 (Sold)
'99 ZX-6R (Sold)
'94 Ninja 250 (Sold)
'99 YZ-250 (Sold)
'73 CL 450 (Sold)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6Jpc...eature=related
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/H...bud_408656.htmfeature=related

The difference between men and boys is that boys make excuses and men make changes.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Owner & Creator
 
Carnage's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,418
Join Date: June 11, 2003
Location: TROLL WORLD
June 7, 2005, 03:48 PM

just take the light bulb out the gauge cluster lol.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
( * )|( * )
 
deviousR6's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,837
Join Date: June 15, 2004
June 7, 2005, 03:59 PM

Hum, since Lexus is a Toyota company I may be able to give you a method to find the code.

My wife and I used to race Supras and I used to work and tune them quite a bit so they diagnostics may not be too different.

I'll dig up the info and PM it to you today or tomorrow.

For now, if you loosen the negative battery terminal for about 10 seconds it will clear the ECU and remove the code.


Chris
2008 MARRC AM Racer of the Year
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
100% Kawasaki Biased
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: April 18, 2005
Location: Catharpin
June 7, 2005, 04:02 PM

cool, i will do the battery thing, half the parts on the car say toyota on them anyway, mine just costs more new.

btw i did do that on my brothers 240 sx when the dealer wanted $400 to check the air bags sensors, snip snip no more light


You can live in your car, but you can't race your house.

'07 ZX-10R - 156 RWHP/182 MPH
'09 KX450F - VCHSS 29F
'85 ZL-900 Eliminator
'01 Ninja 250 (Sold)
'06 636 (Sold)
'99 ZX-6R (Sold)
'94 Ninja 250 (Sold)
'99 YZ-250 (Sold)
'73 CL 450 (Sold)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6Jpc...eature=related
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/H...bud_408656.htmfeature=related

The difference between men and boys is that boys make excuses and men make changes.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
ATTN INVESTORS!
 
rekoniz's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,473
Join Date: August 28, 2004
Location: DOPE SPACE NINE
June 7, 2005, 04:06 PM

yeah, I think the battery trick will get you past inspection. The light only stays off for about 50 miles or so though. So do it before you leave to get inspected and you should be all set as far as that goes.



  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to rekoniz  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
( * )|( * )
 
deviousR6's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,837
Join Date: June 15, 2004
June 7, 2005, 04:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rekoniz
yeah, I think the battery trick will get you past inspection. The light only stays off for about 50 miles or so though. So do it before you leave to get inspected and you should be all set as far as that goes.
It depends on the error code, my friends car had an issue with the tps (turbo pressure sensor) and it set the MIL light each time the car was started.

I wouldn't recommend ignoring the light, depending on what the issue is it could end up running a lot of money in the long run. If it's just for inspection, reset by just loosening the negative terminal right before inspection. I don't think they'll give you a hard time unless it's emissions but it's so easy to reset that you may as well clear it right before you take it in. Also, if you are a little car savvy, you can reset the ECU but pulling the EFI fuses in the fuse box as well...terminal and fuses will both accomplish the same thing.

Funny because I'm tuning my friend's supra this weekend...nothing like getting to beat up someone else's car!


Chris
2008 MARRC AM Racer of the Year
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
Owner & Creator
 
Carnage's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,418
Join Date: June 11, 2003
Location: TROLL WORLD
June 7, 2005, 04:32 PM

or you can just take the fuse out instead of disconnecting the battery
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
whoa preppy......
 
Scot's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,072
Join Date: May 19, 2005
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
June 7, 2005, 05:13 PM

the ES300 is OBDII Try the battery trick...sometimes that will reset a CEL. Your ECU will store the error code though.


2018 XSR700
2013 Moto Guzzi V7 Racer
2019 Honda Monkey
2019 Z900 ABS
2019 Janus Halcyon
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
100% Kawasaki Biased
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: April 18, 2005
Location: Catharpin
June 7, 2005, 05:20 PM

yeh,..... I want it to run right, but the gas milage is the same and it runs fine even with the light on, it came on one day when it was like 100 outside and I used the a/c all day then the next day it was off and then on again, I dont know whats going on I just dont think i should pay $80 for a 3 min job and then do the actual work to fix it myself


You can live in your car, but you can't race your house.

'07 ZX-10R - 156 RWHP/182 MPH
'09 KX450F - VCHSS 29F
'85 ZL-900 Eliminator
'01 Ninja 250 (Sold)
'06 636 (Sold)
'99 ZX-6R (Sold)
'94 Ninja 250 (Sold)
'99 YZ-250 (Sold)
'73 CL 450 (Sold)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6Jpc...eature=related
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/H...bud_408656.htmfeature=related

The difference between men and boys is that boys make excuses and men make changes.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
www.got-one.com
 
gotone's Avatar
 
Posts: 419
Join Date: October 28, 2003
Location: Northern VA
June 7, 2005, 06:02 PM

Some times you can turn the ignition on and off a few times and the code is displayed in the odometer ,...worth a shot if you have a eletronic odometer. try three times, dont start the car just turn the power on and off.

try this place

http://us.lexusownersclub.com/forums...58&showforum=7
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to gotone  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
GP Champ
 
Posts: 2,839
Join Date: November 12, 2002
Location: Woodbridge, VA
June 7, 2005, 06:04 PM

remember when they run a code, the code that shows up is for the sensor that is being affected by whatever is wrong. Its not necessarily that exact part.


Katie 135
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Brooks  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
Owner & Creator
 
Carnage's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,418
Join Date: June 11, 2003
Location: TROLL WORLD
June 7, 2005, 06:52 PM

when was the last time your car had a oil change?
o2 sensor could of gone bad as well.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#13)
Owner & Creator
 
Carnage's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,418
Join Date: June 11, 2003
Location: TROLL WORLD
June 7, 2005, 06:53 PM

scratch out the o2 sensor thing.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#14)
Ballaugh Bridge
 
CrazyMotorcycleGuy's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,873
Join Date: September 29, 2002
Location: VA
June 7, 2005, 07:07 PM

I have an OBDII code scanner, but will your car connect to this?

If it is a 17-pin round type connecter, then it is not OBDII.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg obd.jpg (7.6 KB, 550 views)


'08 MARRC Expert Racer of the Year
2009 #3 Combined Overall Championship

  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#15)
DAS BOOT
 
LadyK's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,986
Join Date: June 28, 2004
Location: Hell, need some suntan lotion?
June 7, 2005, 07:15 PM

I was going to ask about the O2 sensor as well...

I used to have a manual for my supra and it would blink so many times... pause, then blink so many times again... I think my code was 43- dont remember what it was for though.

It will tell you what the problem is. I had to hook up the wires to a panel underneath my steering column.... those were the days.. lol

What year is the car.... how many miles, any mods? Gotta ask...


Wow. Just..................wow.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.