DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 504
6 members and 498 guests
2blueyam, beatle, CrazyMotorcycleGuy, davidcycle, nootherids, RRonin
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Cut my buried FIOS line with an axe?
Unread
  (#1)
Fast Lane Racing
 
CCS762ZX6's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,288
Join Date: August 29, 2012
Cut my buried FIOS line with an axe? - January 1, 2013, 07:39 PM

I guess I shoulda called 811 before splitting wood yesterday

I went outside around noon and started splitting rounds of wood. Using axe and a maul. Several times I drove the axe completely into the ground. I have a feeling I hit the fiber.

I go inside a few hours later to no dial tone and no interwebs. I ask neighbor and their service is fine. Called VZN and they can't hit my ONT even after resetting etc. I check status light outside and it's flashing fail.

I looked at my last received email and it was at noon. Right before I started chopping..

Luckily, I get 4G at the house and activated the hotspot feature..($30 - I really need to root my phone)

The speeds are damn fast. I'm watching TV using slingbox at mom's house which actually doesn't look too bad on a 60" LCD.

Seems like I'm having bad luck with this type of stuff. Just a year ago I was digging in my back yard to bury my dog and I struck the power line. I thought it was a root. I was really banging the hell out of it with a pick and shovel. I touched it and my fingers tingled. I wiped it off with a dog toy and see three black 0 gauge lines saying "600 volts". I continued digging a foot over and all was well. Then a year later, my power started acting funny. Sure enough, I had damaged the wire and it finally shorted out. I left and had my room mate tell Dominion guy we just moved in and that hole was there and I used it to bury my dog and filled it with concrete. No charge on that one thankfully.

Hopefully getting VZN to repair my line will not cost anything if I play dumb

I'm interested to see how long I can use this hotspot before I max out on some data limit. I don't like going into office to tap a keyboard that is readily available at home...
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
The last urrbendah
 
Stillie's Avatar
 
Posts: 18,909
Join Date: February 5, 2003
Location: Kickin' it with Stevie Janowski
January 1, 2013, 08:49 PM

I would raise hell if my fiber was shallow enough to hit with a fucking axe.


13 KTM 200 XC-W
15 KTM 350 XC-F

I might have a dirt bike problem.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
GP Racer
 
Gots_a_sol's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,477
Join Date: March 11, 2011
Location: Charles Town, WV
January 1, 2013, 08:54 PM

Should have called miss-u before you start chopping up that poor innocent grass


I'm not sure on your area, but a lot of companies don't have a specified depth that service lines need to be buried. As long as it isn't laying on the ground it is deep enough for some of them.

Frontier tells us 12" here, but good fucking luck on that. Under the grass is deep enough most of the time If the ground is decent, our machine will do 14" all day. The bits that need done by hand near the house and pole/ped are usually 6-8". If it is rocky though, you basically get whatever you can manage.


-Joe

17 Beta 250RR/RE
09 Husky WR177

Last edited by Gots_a_sol; January 1, 2013 at 09:13 PM..
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Gots_a_sol  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Groping is a skill...
 
turkishexpress's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,997
Join Date: May 3, 2008
Location: Chicagoland
January 1, 2013, 09:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stillie View Post
I would raise hell if my fiber was shallow enough to hit with a fucking axe.
This. I'd go off on them.


2015 KTM Super Duke 1290 R
2013 Victory Vision Tour
K7 Gixxer 600 - Track Only
RnR Cycles Touched & Tuned


I grope suckaz!!! -
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
Your Ad Here
 
Heist's Avatar
 
Posts: 32,591
Join Date: August 25, 2008
Location: Washington, D.C.
January 1, 2013, 09:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stillie View Post
I would raise hell if my fiber was shallow enough to hit with a fucking axe.
This.
Data should be at least 12-18" under the surface, electrical 24-32", and water service 36".
In most all counties or towns there is code defining this.



“Any man who tries to be good all the time is bound to come to ruin among the great number who are not good. Hence a Prince who wants to keep his authority must learn how not to be good, and use that knowledge, or refrain from using it, as necessity requires”.

- Nicolo Machiavelli 1469-1527

  Facebook Page MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
Officially Addicted to Posting
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,660
Join Date: August 30, 2006
Location: Reston
January 1, 2013, 10:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stillie View Post
I would raise hell if my fiber was shallow enough to hit with a fucking axe.


"I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you fuck with me, I'll kill you all." -MG James Mattis, Iraq 2003

Ruining .net one post at a time
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
EFI - 07/C2
 
bcr229's Avatar
 
Posts: 657
Join Date: August 27, 2011
Location: Eastern WV Panhandle
January 2, 2013, 07:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gots_a_sol View Post
Frontier tells us 12" here, but good fucking luck on that. Under the grass is deep enough most of the time If the ground is decent, our machine will do 14" all day. The bits that need done by hand near the house and pole/ped are usually 6-8". If it is rocky though, you basically get whatever you can manage.
Seriously? I have garden tillers that tear shit up deeper than that.


http://www.ExtremeFirepower.com/ - EFI, LLC - Custom Precision Rifles, Gunsmithing, & Machine Gun Rentals

http://www.TankVest.com/ - Attach MOLLE gear to your KLR, KTM, or VStrom gas tank

Each player must accept the cards life deals him or her, but once they are in hand, he alone must decide how to play the cards in order to win the game.
- Voltaire
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
GP Racer
 
Kayaus's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,319
Join Date: June 11, 2009
Location: ALABAMA
January 2, 2013, 07:49 AM

I did the same thing, not with an axe, but cut the fiber to the house. I found that the fiber was only trenched as 3". VA utilities should be at 12" or deeper, I looked up the codes on this, but I can't recall them now. I called Verizon and they had the line re-trenched to proper depth within 48 hours.

Sucks, but just call them up.


Yamaha FZ8
Husqvarna TE310R ---
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
Knarly Adventurer
 
wildjester's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,925
Join Date: March 22, 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
January 2, 2013, 08:26 AM

I think its crazy the cable was so shallow!

I think its crazy you drive the ax into the ground when splitting wood.

Improper cable laying + bad wood splitting technique = problem


Everytime you cook up...a little boy gets crushed by a bridge. -JTG40cal



2013 Triumph Tiger 800XC
2009 Scrambler SOLD
2007 ZX14 SOLD
2005 R1 SOLD
1999 ZRX SOLD
1996 FZR SOLD
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
Fast Lane Racing
 
CCS762ZX6's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,288
Join Date: August 29, 2012
January 2, 2013, 11:31 AM

VZN is here and confirmed the line was cut. He's laying a temp cable so I can get service until a crew with a ditch witch comes to finish the job.

He confirmed that the line should be 12" deep.

Hopefully the furnace problem / solution is simple as well.
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
GP Racer
 
Gots_a_sol's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,477
Join Date: March 11, 2011
Location: Charles Town, WV
January 2, 2013, 01:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcr229 View Post
Seriously? I have garden tillers that tear shit up deeper than that.
And that is the source of a lot of my work too.



-Joe

17 Beta 250RR/RE
09 Husky WR177
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Gots_a_sol  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.