DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 580
4 members and 576 guests
davidcycle, RideUniverse, Scot, Slider
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Heated Seat Swap Ford Focus St need electrical help
Unread
  (#1)
GP Champ
 
bluhokie12's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,805
Join Date: August 10, 2008
Location: Ashburn
Heated Seat Swap Ford Focus St need electrical help - December 9, 2014, 04:43 PM

So I swapped seats from a non power seat to a powered seat with heat. Has the heat infrastructure and harness as well as connecting cables on the seat side.

What I need as anyone who knows of shops or buddies who could cleanly help for $ to get the seats power/controls on the car side so that the car would function like it came from factory with heated seats and their controls.

Anyone have a recommendation?
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ
 
drt_Jumper's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,921
Join Date: August 28, 2007
Location: Manassas Va
December 9, 2014, 06:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluhokie12 View Post
So I swapped seats from a non power seat to a powered seat with heat. Has the heat infrastructure and harness as well as connecting cables on the seat side.

What I need as anyone who knows of shops or buddies who could cleanly help for $ to get the seats power/controls on the car side so that the car would function like it came from factory with heated seats and their controls.

Anyone have a recommendation?
I have the same car (st with heated leather recaros) assuming you have a non heated seat st you will have all the wiring for the seats. All you should need is the dual switch out of a junk st 3 to install in your center console. You may have to cut out a whole for the center console. If you can wait a week you can being it to my place and we can work on it with my car as a reference point. I can do all the wiring and such if need be. But having that 5 position switch is going to be essential as the seat is not just a on off type seat like in my euro spec svt focus.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
GP Champ
 
bluhokie12's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,805
Join Date: August 10, 2008
Location: Ashburn
December 9, 2014, 07:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by drt_Jumper View Post
I have the same car (st with heated leather recaros) assuming you have a non heated seat st you will have all the wiring for the seats. All you should need is the dual switch out of a junk st 3 to install in your center console. You may have to cut out a whole for the center console. If you can wait a week you can being it to my place and we can work on it with my car as a reference point. I can do all the wiring and such if need be. But having that 5 position switch is going to be essential as the seat is not just a on off type seat like in my euro spec svt focus.
Yeah, the question is, is the wiring already in place so that its just cut a hole out for the controls and hook it up to the control harness, or will I need to run from seat harness all the way to switch harness.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
GP Champ
 
drt_Jumper's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,921
Join Date: August 28, 2007
Location: Manassas Va
December 9, 2014, 08:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluhokie12 View Post
Yeah, the question is, is the wiring already in place so that its just cut a hole out for the controls and hook it up to the control harness, or will I need to run from seat harness all the way to switch harness.
Every st I have torn into has had the same wiring harness. So yours should have the wiring.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
need more knee down
 
LVegaJr's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,571
Join Date: July 27, 2005
Location: Manassas, Va
December 9, 2014, 08:48 PM

Ford lays the same wiring into all their vehicles, no matter if they have all the options to use it all. This ultimately saves them money since the time it would take to specifically lay out all the wiring needed would be $$$$$$. For instance, F150s are all pre-wiried for the rear camera. If your truck didnt have one, you just buy the rearview mirror with the screen and the camera, both come with pigtails and the main harness is already in the truck.

I'd say you could go to Ford parts and order a ST console with the slot for the heater switch and the actual switch and just plug and play it all in. The seats you got probably already have the associated pigtails needed to plug into the car's main harness.


~Lou
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to LVegaJr Send a message via AIM to LVegaJr Send a message via Skype™ to LVegaJr 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.