DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 484
1 members and 483 guests
2blueyam
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Imaging New Computers - How?
Unread
  (#1)
Resident Rodent
 
Magic-Rat's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,717
Join Date: November 25, 2003
Location: Manassas
Imaging New Computers - How? - January 13, 2010, 05:21 AM

All,

What's the best way to image a bunch of identical computers these days?

Back in the day, I used to use Ghost ... that still a good method?

Only have about a dozen identical notebooks to do. Don't have access to a LAN, so will have to use a USB drive to hold the image, I guess ...

Anybody think of a better way?

Thks,


- Rat

"Ride to the sound of the guns."

http://www.magicratproductions.com
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Officially Addicted to Posting
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,660
Join Date: August 30, 2006
Location: Reston
January 13, 2010, 05:39 AM

we used ghost multicast, but since you dont have access to a lan.... Ghost is still good, and theres also Acronis.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
↓ dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ ↓
 
Dark's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,213
Join Date: March 10, 2008
January 13, 2010, 06:26 AM

If they all have DVD drives and the images are smaller than a DVD you can use one DVD to reimage the machines using ghost.


-Ryan
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Mojito Anyone?
 
onel0wcubn's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,208
Join Date: April 28, 2008
Location: La Habana
January 13, 2010, 07:14 AM

you can still use ghost. but like chris said since you don't have a LAN you'll have to do one by one...


ay ya yay
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to onel0wcubn Send a message via AIM to onel0wcubn  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
Officially Addicted to Posting
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,660
Join Date: August 30, 2006
Location: Reston
January 13, 2010, 07:20 AM

i used to carry around a 16port switch and some extra lan cables with me.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
infected by devils
 
edicWHUN's Avatar
 
Posts: 422
Join Date: September 9, 2009
Location: Outside the Bullseye
January 13, 2010, 07:20 AM

Don't forget to use sysprep so they get unique SIDs!


There's only two words that describe me, search and destroy.
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to edicWHUN  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
Officially Addicted to Posting
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,660
Join Date: August 30, 2006
Location: Reston
January 13, 2010, 07:22 AM

we used a script in runonce that would rename at first boot. saved a lot of time
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
Owner & Creator
 
Carnage's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,418
Join Date: June 11, 2003
Location: TROLL WORLD
January 13, 2010, 07:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris2 View Post
we used a script in runonce that would rename at first boot. saved a lot of time
Rename the computer?

We use Acronis.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
Tough guy
 
CamDLux's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,463
Join Date: May 13, 2007
Location: Leesburg
January 13, 2010, 07:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by edicWHUN View Post
Don't forget to use sysprep so they get unique SIDs!
You can also use NEWSID .
Here is a slickdeal for Arconis $30. Acronis FTW!
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to CamDLux Send a message via MSN to CamDLux Send a message via Skype™ to CamDLux 
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9,771
Join Date: October 4, 2002
Location: NoVA
January 13, 2010, 07:52 AM

I still use ghost
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
T.R.I.T.D.H
 
TalkofDC's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,151
Join Date: June 9, 2008
Location: Whoodbridge?
January 13, 2010, 08:36 AM

Ghosting them is probably the best and quickest way....

If it works effeciently for about 90-100 SFF PC's every month then I would say it would be best for 12 notebooks.


What do you value more? Life or Image?

"I don't ride, I usually just sit around wearing a tshirt and my icon back protector and talk shit about anyone who does not have a liter bike. That's how you can pick me out of a crowd. I also wear a red tophat."
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
Serial Killer
 
Diggy's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,314
Join Date: September 30, 2002
Location: Woodbridge
January 13, 2010, 08:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CamDLux View Post
You can also use NEWSID .
Here is a slickdeal for Arconis $30. Acronis FTW!
IF you can find Newsid to download it. Acronis is the way to go


I'm a lead farmer, motherfucker!!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to Diggy Send a message via AIM to Diggy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#13)
Site ADMIN
 
spud's Avatar
 
Posts: 16,846
Join Date: September 30, 2002
Location: Lake Ridge
January 13, 2010, 08:50 AM

I still use ghost with sysprep. Magic just use a cheap hub/switch that has dhcp capabilities..


This post was prepared as a service to the DCSportbikes.net community. Neither the DCSportbikes.net ADMINS nor any of the moderators, makes any warranty, expressed or implied, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, product, link, or process disclosed, or represents that its use would not infringe privately owned rights. Reference herein to any specific commercial products, process, or service by trade name, trademark manufacturer, or otherwise, does not necessarily constitute or imply its endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by DCSportbikes.net. The opinions of this author expressed herein do not necessarily state or reflect those of the DCSportbikes.net community, and shall not be used for advertising or product endorsement purposes.
__________________________________________________ ________


Alex
13 Honda Fury
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to spud Send a message via MSN to spud  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#14)
Face Down @$$ UP
 
WvGoDFather's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,776
Join Date: September 11, 2005
Location: Eastern Panhandle of Wv
January 13, 2010, 09:52 AM

Ghost FTW.
I have a 16 port switch, just laying doing nothing.


"If brains were gas. You wouldnt have enough gas, to drive a piss-ants' motorcycle, half-way around a BB."
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to WvGoDFather Send a message via MSN to WvGoDFather  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#15)
Officially Addicted to Posting
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,660
Join Date: August 30, 2006
Location: Reston
January 13, 2010, 12:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage View Post
Rename the computer?

We use Acronis.
yeah, because the way we did our ghost images it would copy everything, including the computer name. When the computers booted up, they all had the same name and threw up that XP error. So, there was a script that we would run before we rebooted windows into Ghost client (to make the image) that would put itself in RunOnce, and then every computer would automatically rename itself on first boot into admin account
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.