DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 571
3 members and 568 guests
CrazyMotorcycleGuy, davidcycle, Diggy
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Non-Sportbike Forums > Non-Sportbike Chat

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Question for networking guru, Internet Connection Sharing
Unread
  (#1)
Noob with a 600rr
 
h0ndaguy's Avatar
 
Posts: 178
Join Date: July 25, 2008
Location: Centreville, VA
Question for networking guru, Internet Connection Sharing - September 24, 2008, 10:59 PM

So, I have a desktop, with the wireless internet connection set up. I also have a NIC on this desktop. Is it possible to connect my laptop's ethernet port to the desktop's ethernet port and use the internet connection off the desktop? I googled up a few solutions, but none seems to work for m

I'm looking to buy a Wireless G Notebook card for this old laptop soon, but I need to know if I could use my desktop's Internet connection for the time being and surf .Net on my laptop.

Anyone's got one to sell/give away?


'07 CBR 600 RR
'04 CBR 600 F4i - SOLD
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Happiness Consultant
 
EduardoSuave's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,231
Join Date: August 31, 2003
Location: The LC
September 24, 2008, 11:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ndaguy
So, I have a desktop, with the wireless internet connection set up. I also have a NIC on this desktop. Is it possible to connect my laptop's ethernet port to the desktop's ethernet port and use the internet connection off the desktop? I googled up a few solutions, but none seems to work for m

I'm looking to buy a Wireless G Notebook card for this old laptop soon, but I need to know if I could use my desktop's Internet connection for the time being and surf .Net on my laptop.

Anyone's got one to sell/give away?
you would have to start with a crossover cable and without knowing your Operating System, thats all I'm going to say.


DBR
#135, #47, Vega
--
"Never contract friendship with a man that is not better than thyself." - Confucius

Will pay to see this
whatever henry's name is these days: jason, seriously, im going to kick your face in when I get back
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to EduardoSuave  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
Noob with a 600rr
 
h0ndaguy's Avatar
 
Posts: 178
Join Date: July 25, 2008
Location: Centreville, VA
September 24, 2008, 11:30 PM

I have XP Pro on both


'07 CBR 600 RR
'04 CBR 600 F4i - SOLD
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
squid
 
elements018's Avatar
 
Posts: 298
Join Date: August 19, 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
September 25, 2008, 12:44 AM

its pretty easy, get a cross over cable, and then in network connections, select both the wireless card and wired nic card. right click, click on bridge connections. and thats it. All this on the desktop, on the laptop you wont have to do anything
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to elements018  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.