DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 523
3 members and 520 guests
2blueyam, davidcycle, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Tech Questions

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
2004 triumph daytona speedometer problem
Unread
  (#1)
Spectroscopist/adventurer
 
fireclown's Avatar
 
Posts: 518
Join Date: March 20, 2006
Location: Maryland
2004 triumph daytona speedometer problem - September 19, 2010, 10:57 AM

Every now and then, while riding, my speedometer will flash and read 0 mph, with no increase in mileage. RPM gauge is unaffected. I know that this is a speedo cable issue, and that it's probably loose or something that is causing it to send a nonsense signal to the instrument cluster and causing it to freak out.

The problem is that I can't seem to find the damned cable. I know some other triumphs have had some kind of dealiewhatsit built into the hub. Is this one of those?


Spaceballs is one dumb ass movie. I'm surprised I had to tell you that.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ
 
Space's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,556
Join Date: August 17, 2005
Location: Berryville
September 19, 2010, 05:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireclown View Post
Every now and then, while riding, my speedometer will flash and read 0 mph, with no increase in mileage. RPM gauge is unaffected. I know that this is a speedo cable issue, and that it's probably loose or something that is causing it to send a nonsense signal to the instrument cluster and causing it to freak out.

The problem is that I can't seem to find the damned cable. I know some other triumphs have had some kind of dealiewhatsit built into the hub. Is this one of those?
I can't remember if the Daytonas have a speed sensor mounted to the front wheel or in the trans. Check all connectors going in to the trans. Check the connection at the back of the speedo.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
Agitator
 
birdman's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,769
Join Date: October 23, 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
September 19, 2010, 05:16 PM

It's British, it was never designed to work consistently.


Marc
CCS Amateur #851
2001 Ducati 850RS
2006 SV650 Racebike
2010 CBR1000RR

...and because sometimes you want to go fast, but need 4 wheels:
2009 Nissan GT-R
2003 Nissan 350Z (for sale, $11k OBO)
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to birdman  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Spectroscopist/adventurer
 
fireclown's Avatar
 
Posts: 518
Join Date: March 20, 2006
Location: Maryland
September 20, 2010, 09:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Space View Post
I can't remember if the Daytonas have a speed sensor mounted to the front wheel or in the trans. Check all connectors going in to the trans. Check the connection at the back of the speedo.
I took a look at the back of the speedometer. Instead of a normal speedo cable I found a single plug full of tiny wires that got wrapped together in a bundle. I got demoralized and put the bike together again. If it's in the transmission, how boned am I?


Spaceballs is one dumb ass movie. I'm surprised I had to tell you that.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
Tiny Pimpled Genitalia
 
Bikrsk8r's Avatar
 
Posts: 454
Join Date: February 6, 2009
Location: Colombia
September 20, 2010, 11:24 AM

my '02 has a sensor in the front hub, left side.

many times shops have failed to get it reassembled properly after having the wheel off.

but there is an endemic problem with the speedo.

a dealer flash update to the ecu or (i'm told) reflash yourself using this software: TuneECU_Start

dealer flash fixed mine


!advance the agenda!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
GP Champ
 
Space's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,556
Join Date: August 17, 2005
Location: Berryville
September 20, 2010, 04:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireclown View Post
I took a look at the back of the speedometer. Instead of a normal speedo cable I found a single plug full of tiny wires that got wrapped together in a bundle. I got demoralized and put the bike together again. If it's in the transmission, how boned am I?

Not much about $86. Get it from the dealler you will get it faster and no shipping.

2004 Triumph DAYTONA 600 & 650 OEM Parts, 2004 Triumph DAYTONA 600 & 650 OEM Motorcycle Parts - BikeBandit.com

Check the connector in at the trans or remove the old and clean it first. Sk8r may be be correct about the reflash.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.