DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 527
1 members and 526 guests
davidcycle
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Tech Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
DC inspection
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

DC inspection - April 10, 2008, 10:03 PM

Has anyone have any experience on getting their bike inspected in DC? (Not VA or MD, just DC). Do they do emissions testing? If i get a slip on my bike, will I fail inspection? As slip ons street legal?

I tried reading the inspection requirements for motorcycles? I tried reading the regulations on the DMV website but they dont really say much on motorcycles. I talked to a few people already and I get conflicting answers. Some say that it was a breeze that they didnt even turn on the bike and they got their inspection stickers. Others have said that the inspectors are really picky and look at the smallest details. Unfortunately I didnt ask about emissions.

Thanks in advance.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
Officially Addicted to Posting

April 11, 2008, 08:20 AM

They did not do an emissions test on any of my bikes. You will get conflicting answers, becasue there is no consistency. I brough a bike through with 30,000 miles on it and some mods and they didn't even turn on the key to check mileage. I also brought a brand new bike with no mods and they went over it with a fine tooth comb. I don't know if they have any noise limits. They never turned on my loudest bike, so who knows.

I'll see if I can find the motorcycle requirments for DC (I probably posted them in an earlier thread).

*Here is the earlier thread: