DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 555
3 members and 552 guests
2blueyam, amit, GRN96WS6
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Tech Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
jet kit issues
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

jet kit issues - July 6, 2009, 11:30 AM

Hello all.
I did some searching but couldn't find a good answer in an existing thread. Here's the deal:

I got a dynojet jetkit (and K&N air filter) put into my superhawk by a local honda shop (already had Jardine cans on it). I got it back last week and tried to take it out yesterday. The (cold) start was really rough and the rear cylinder (at least thats the area I think it was) sounded a little weird. I got it out of the neighborhood but it was doing a lot of crackling and backfiring when I closed the throttle. Also there is now a significant flat spot at about 4k rpm when accelerating. Then it died at every light I stopped at. So I got it home and turned the idle up a little. Still a lot of backfiring and the flat spot but not dying at lights anymore.
This morning on another cold start the noise from the rear cylinder area sounded worse, like something wasn't spinning in sync with everything else (this is my main concern) and it was slightly harder to get fired than it used to be (which means it will be a royal PITA once it turns cold in winter).
Edit: One other thing, when idling, if you rev the engine it doesnt' drop right to idle speed when you close the throttle. it slows to 2k, then slowly drops down to idle.
Any ideas? Thanks!