DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 551
2 members and 549 guests
2blueyam, boomboom929
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Tech Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
No Spark, no start
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

No Spark, no start - February 10, 2009, 05:37 PM

Hello All,

I've got a 95 zx9r that won't start. It seems I do not get any spark at the plugs, but it has been a sort of twisted story to get to this point and that knowledge.

It's a used bike that I bought in September. It ran perfectly for me this fall, until I made the mistake of parking it with the choke on. I'm pretty sure now that flooded the engine but I didn't realize it at the time, and was the reason I couldn't start it the next time I went to ride. I was able to push start it. I tried to push start it again a few days later, this time with no success, and as I tried to push the bike back up my (steep) driveway, I dropped it on the left side. Bent the mirror and broke the clutch peg, but no other (obvious) damage. By this time I had read enough to suspect flooding, so the next step I took was to pull the plugs. Yep, they were black and wet, so it seemed like flooding had been the problem. I replaced the plugs, charged the battery and drained the float bowls. When I try to start it now, it cranks but won't start. I verified that I'm getting fuel in the carb, and that the battery was fully charged, so next I checked to make sure the plugs spark, but either they don't, or I am doing something wrong testing.

My questions: