DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 528
3 members and 525 guests
beatle, davidcycle, nootherids
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Tech Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Tire article
Unread
  (#1)
Licensed Rider

Tire article - May 9, 2012, 01:34 PM

I found this article very informative so thought I would share

.: Motorcycle Tire Tips | Canyon Chasers Motorcycle Sport Touring :.

personally I have been running sport touring tires on my 600rr for about 3 years and have no drop in performance from a full sport tire
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ

May 9, 2012, 05:41 PM

same here. been running Dunlop Road Smart for years. Can easily tear up 211 drag knee and awesome in the rain and cold weather. Why we need full blown sport tires on the street is beyond me when their are such excellent sport touring tires available. They also last much longer than soft sport tires. Wanna be Rossi folks can continue to use soft sport tires on the street. bahahaha
Unread
  (#3)
GP Champ

May 9, 2012, 06:39 PM

Sport-touring tires rock on the street for anything short of a track pace and as mentioned work much better in cold/damp conditions.

In a pinch they even work well on the track for B group/slow I group pace as long as one listens to their tires and watch your tire temps carefully.

Disclaimer: YMMV and some track orgs still specify that you have to run a sport-tire compound.

There's bold riders and old riders, but damn few bold old riders.
Unread
  (#4)
SRWJTS SGT-At-Arms

May 9, 2012, 06:41 PM