DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 498
2 members and 496 guests
boomboom929, nootherids
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Tech Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Valve Adjustment Help!
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

Valve Adjustment Help! - May 31, 2014, 05:33 PM

Hey guys, so I ride a '06 Honda CBR 600rr, and she's got roughly 17,500 miles on her. I'm starting to hear the ticking sound that indicates the valves need to be adjusted. I also think it might be getting a little sluggish on me, but I may just be being paranoid. I'm not a mechanical guy at all so I don't even know where to start with this and I'm scared to work on it myself.

I bought it used and to the best of my knowledge they've never been adjusted before. I was wondering:
A. is it bad for the bike to ride it like this, and if so, how bad is it?
And B. does anyone here (I'm in the baltimore area but I can travel) know how to do this kind of maintenance and would be willing to help me out, or know of a shop that doesn't charge an arm and a leg for it?