DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 528
3 members and 525 guests
2blueyam, davidcycle, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Tech Questions

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
ZX9 Tachometer question........
Unread
  (#1)
AMA Superbike Champ
 
Aboogie's Avatar
 
Posts: 695
Join Date: November 1, 2006
Location: PG County
ZX9 Tachometer question........ - August 17, 2010, 09:15 PM

Finishing up the 99 to 00 Conversion and I am running into one last issue with the gauges......

I have everything wired up, but now when the bike is started the tach stays at 4000 rpm. And when I rev it, it always stays 4000 rpm above the actual rpm....

Do you have any thoughts on this issue..........


http://twitter.com/Aboogie301



RIP Weezie aka GODSON............


  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Dude, playing the dude! K
 
clowe1243's Avatar
 
Posts: 546
Join Date: May 21, 2009
August 17, 2010, 11:18 PM

Interesting...maybe a speedo change required?
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to clowe1243  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
AMA Superbike Champ
 
Aboogie's Avatar
 
Posts: 695
Join Date: November 1, 2006
Location: PG County
August 18, 2010, 08:11 AM

Im looking into that now.......

I had to change up the wiring a bit during the swap so I am going to fool around with that some more....... Here is the model that I followed.......

C Loom Pin
1. move to 15. Black yellow. Chassis earth.
2. move to 14. Turquoise (V Light green). Neutral Indicator light.
3. move to 6. Red black. High beam indicator.
4. move to 5. Grey. Right hand turn signal.
5. move to 4. Green. Left hand turn signal.
6. move to 3. Blue red. Oil pressure warning light.
7. move to 2. Empty
8. move to 1. Light blue. Tacho Pulses from IC Ignitor Unit.
9. move to 16. Red blue. Tacho and Speedo illumination.
10. move to 7. White. Always live 12 volts use not known maybe Clock.
11. move to 8. Brown white. 12 volts to Oil, Neutral, Tacho, and Speedo.
12. move to 13. Pink. From Speedo censor, use not known.
13. move to 12. Black blue. Earth for Tacho, Speedo and Coolant overheat warning LED.
14. move to 11. Empty.
15. move to 10. Blue. Coolant overheat warning LED.
16. move to 9. Yellow. Speedo pulses, from Speedo sensor.


http://twitter.com/Aboogie301



RIP Weezie aka GODSON............


  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
#47 GODSPEED BAMBAM
 
dodge131's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,567
Join Date: May 31, 2006
Location: NOVA
August 18, 2010, 08:23 AM

You might have to put in a resister. Funny it should work fine. I have a 94-97 gauge package from a ZX9 on my 2001 ZRX and it plugged right in and worked perfect.


www.RnRcycles.com


Home of RNR Repsol Racing.

Missing all my fallen friends and family! If Life Was Easy Then Everyone Would Do It!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
AMA Superbike Champ
 
Aboogie's Avatar
 
Posts: 695
Join Date: November 1, 2006
Location: PG County
August 18, 2010, 08:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodge131 View Post
You might have to put in a resister. Funny it should work fine. I have a 94-97 gauge package from a ZX9 on my 2001 ZRX and it plugged right in and worked perfect.
Is this Rick? I was told to call you on this issue........

I will try a resister......

A buddy ,who has also done the conversion, said the wiring worked perfectly for him so I am wondering if its another issue.........


http://twitter.com/Aboogie301



RIP Weezie aka GODSON............


  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
#47 GODSPEED BAMBAM
 
dodge131's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,567
Join Date: May 31, 2006
Location: NOVA
August 18, 2010, 09:43 AM

Nope not Rick. Do you have a bad ground? It should work unless something is miss wired or damaged.


www.RnRcycles.com


Home of RNR Repsol Racing.

Missing all my fallen friends and family! If Life Was Easy Then Everyone Would Do It!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
AMA Superbike Champ
 
Aboogie's Avatar
 
Posts: 695
Join Date: November 1, 2006
Location: PG County
August 18, 2010, 09:58 AM

I dont think I have a bad ground, but I will check it..........


http://twitter.com/Aboogie301



RIP Weezie aka GODSON............


  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
AMA Superbike Champ
 
Aboogie's Avatar
 
Posts: 695
Join Date: November 1, 2006
Location: PG County
August 18, 2010, 10:59 AM

What ohm resistor do you suggest???


http://twitter.com/Aboogie301



RIP Weezie aka GODSON............


  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.