DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 563
0 members and 563 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Riding Gear and Apparel

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
When in Rome...

September 27, 2005, 09:14 AM

Hi -

I'm relatively new to the sport. I ride to work every day and I sort of fudge on gear then (always wear my jacket but that's about it as far as gear). But, I'd like to get some stuff to wear when I get out of town on the weekends. Although safety is my primary concern, I'd like to look like I'm wearing the right stuff and I'd like to not look like a poser - so I ask you for some suggestions:

1. Do people wear leather pants for the road? I hear they're way better than jeans. Full suit or two piece setup? What can I get that isn't going to cost a thousand bucks but could possibly double as gear for a track day (I might do like one of these...but not often enough to justify buying a racing suit).

2. I saw the boots post below. Would it be goofy to get a pair of sidi or alpinestars boots that look a little more like motogp boots? Are these only for wearing with full leathers?

3. Does anyone have a preference on cheap online resources for quality stuff?

Thanks...
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
Riding is like Sex. WEEE!

September 27, 2005, 09:24 AM

I usually wear a jacket, gloves on the street.

I have seen people wear the SIDi boots with jeans. I personally never have.

Some people always go out in full leathers.

It's all about what you want.

www.kneedraggers.com

www.starcycle.com

www.parts411.com

or the local shops