DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 578
3 members and 575 guests
CCS762ZX6, Sal_the_man, Scot
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Riding Gear and Apparel

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
GP Champ
 
ThrustinJZX6's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,014
Join Date: October 15, 2003
Location: I should have my own website
April 22, 2004, 12:36 PM

From Gizmodo.com


One of the better trends to come out of the automotive tuning scene are the adoption of cheap, accelerometers that let the drivers keep track of quarter-mile times, 0-60 second rates, braking distance, etc., all from within their own car. With units like the Beltronics FX2 available for under $200, performance tuners don’t have to waste money on track runs, dynometers, and speeding tickets just to determine how hoss their hot rods are.

Unfortunately, accelerometers are notoriously sensitive to road conditions, bumps, temperature, and engine vibration, so when Nonlinear Engineering developed the Veypor ‘Motorcyle Performance Intelligence’ system, they complimented their 3-axis accelerometer with a rear-wheel rotation sensor to provide more accurate data acquisition. The two-button Veypor unit measures acceleration, velocity, current gear and RPMs, as well as graphing peak horsepower and torque maps. Add to that a lap timer and staged quarter-mile run programs and you’ve got a full-blown, durable sensor package for around $280. [Thanks, Devin!][/img]


'00 Kawasaki Ninja ZX6-R
'03 Honda XR100R
Xbox: ThrustinJ
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to ThrustinJZX6  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Mr. Glass
 
usman's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,883
Join Date: July 11, 2003
Location: Emerica
April 22, 2004, 12:39 PM

thats cool.. any ideas on accuracy?


06 Black 10R
http://theazzman.com
http://twitter.com/azzman
________________________
|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^|*||__
|- TEAM MONSTER ENERGY -|*||'|";\,___.
|_..._..._by_Kawasaki______|*||_|_|...,]|
"(@)'(@)''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''(@)(@)** **** (@)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossi
dressing up like a fruity gangster and going to Sterling, that is like wearing a tuxedo just to go to the bathroom.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossi
Buying a sportbike to go the speed limit (which you do not do in your car) is like buying a condom to look at it.

Do you buy a condom to look at it? No you buy it to fuck.
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via ICQ to usman Send a message via Yahoo to usman Send a message via AIM to usman  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
www.got-one.com
 
gotone's Avatar
 
Posts: 419
Join Date: October 28, 2003
Location: Northern VA
April 23, 2004, 05:26 AM

I just ordered it. $305 with shipping. http://www.veypor.com/index.html

/damn now i found it for $260.72 here
http://www.cbxman.com/detail.aspx?ID=1885

The manual. http://www.racerpartswholesale.com/veyporman.pdf shows all the features..... it has a drag race christmas tree built in



  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to gotone  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
www.got-one.com
 
gotone's Avatar
 
Posts: 419
Join Date: October 28, 2003
Location: Northern VA
April 27, 2004, 07:46 PM

The install is not easy. took about 3 hours.

  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to gotone  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
GP Racer
 
FlyinBy's Avatar
 
Posts: 875
Join Date: March 17, 2004
Location: Springfield
May 23, 2004, 06:38 AM

That's pretty cool man. What did you have to do for the install?
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to FlyinBy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
www.got-one.com
 
gotone's Avatar
 
Posts: 419
Join Date: October 28, 2003
Location: Northern VA
May 24, 2004, 06:25 AM

The whole install procedure is in the manual linked above. It's 1 wire to the back wheel,2 to the battery,and one to an ignition coil or tach.

Worked fine for a few weeks... but now It stopped working right. the tach signal is intermittent and the screen sometimes goes all black or distorted.

I hope its just a loose connection. I want to pull the airbox and check, maybe place a capacitor inline with the power to clean up the signal. I might end up using a wire to the tach instead of the ignition coil it has capabilities for that but getting to the tach wire looks hard.

here are pics I took installing it.
http://www.got-one.com/veypor.htm
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to gotone  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
1 of DA PAK FOUNDERS!!
 
Posts: 19,820
Join Date: September 27, 2002
Location: Mi vida Loca
May 24, 2004, 08:57 AM

man nice looking joint!!


R1 , 2001
Gixxer 2005
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to Chico Send a message via AIM to Chico  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
www.got-one.com
 
gotone's Avatar
 
Posts: 419
Join Date: October 28, 2003
Location: Northern VA
January 28, 2005, 09:31 PM

Returned it after 9months. Had it replaced twice and found that it just will NOT work with a 2003 gsx-r 600. Stay away from this one untill all the bugs get fixed.
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to gotone  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
GP Champ
 
Twiggy6's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,115
Join Date: December 27, 2002
January 28, 2005, 09:36 PM

is it the vibration that's killing it? I went through a few GPS units on various motocycles due to vibration. Luckily, I only buy pieces of shit to begin with.


If you drink and ride, I have no pity for you. At all, ever.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
www.got-one.com
 
gotone's Avatar
 
Posts: 419
Join Date: October 28, 2003
Location: Northern VA
January 28, 2005, 09:45 PM

I can't see the problem being vibrations. I retuned it twice due to vertical lines on the display. When they replaced it the first time the units RPM display would not sync with the actuall RPM , it taps a single coil and uses a multiplyer and the "right" setting they tell me is 6x but that displays 1/2 the actuall RPM, and 7 is almost right but off at the higher range.
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to gotone  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
GP Champ
 
Twiggy6's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,115
Join Date: December 27, 2002
January 28, 2005, 09:50 PM

Both of my GPS failure were display related also.


If you drink and ride, I have no pity for you. At all, ever.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.