DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 146
5 members and 141 guests
CrazyMotorcycleGuy, Deep, GRN96WS6, MPSniper, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Riding Gear and Apparel

LinkBack Thread Tools
probably old...Textile vs. Leather
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

Lightbulb probably old...Textile vs. Leather - May 11, 2009, 04:43 PM

I went to a cycle shop today looking for a jacket. I really want a leather jacket b/c it gives the most protection however the one i tried on fit perfectly EXCEPT the sleeves were too long so the pads were on my forearm instead of my elbow. On the other hand i tried on a textile jacket where the sleeves fit and there were snaps around the elbow pads to keep them in place. She said that there were guys that she worked with who crashed at 90 MPH in textile and they were fine. I'm not going to be going anywhere near 90MPH any time soon. Plus since i'm a girl if you get things to fit in one place they're usually bigger in others lol. So my question is should i go with textile or get the leather and figure out a way to keep the pads on my elbows
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
TPG - screw face

May 11, 2009, 04:55 PM

FWIW, my JR leather jacket...the elbow pads start just behind the elbow and actually do extend a lil down the forearm...obviously not all the way to the wrist...but a good ways down and the jacket fits perfectly. I think the same is for my leather Teknic 1 piece...did you actually have zero% of the pads actually on your elbow?