DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 556
3 members and 553 guests
davidcycle, Scot, Slider
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > Crash and Rash

LinkBack Thread Tools
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

June 23, 2004, 03:13 PM

This thread is about my experience on Joplin Rd out behind the Marine base in Lorton VA. I was three weeks into ever owning and riding and I thought I knew it all.

It started out as ride to 55 West to 211 up the Mountain but instead the point man made a left to Joplin. Joplin is a road chop full of quick turns and changes in elevation, real fun if you keep your balls in your pants. Well I got a case of big balls and when the more experienced riders took off, so did I. I was doing fine until we came up on a 15 MPH blind turn at 75 MPH. I was all busy tunneling on the rider in front of me that I totally did not see the turn coming. I kept my cool and slowed down with my rear brake, missed the apex and ended up on the grass shoulder. It had rained earlier in the week and I had hit a sink hole. The front end dropped and I flipped over the bike. Real fun. Ego in tow, the group stopped to help me with the bike. We ended up going to Rt 1 to clean it up before the ride home. I was real gentle on the throttle on the trip home, didn't even break 5 grand.

Lessons for new riders:

-Always pay attention to the road in front of you and down the road.
-Never get locked on an object, ie tunnel-vision. Always scan.
-Don't bring your balls out, unless you are willing to pay with them.

Things that could have gone wrong: