DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 633
4 members and 629 guests
car54, davidcycle, Nobrains, Slider
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Forums > After the Ride...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Help A Brotha OUT !!!
Unread
  (#1)
I'm a Rookie, How do I Wheelie?

Help A Brotha OUT !!! - March 23, 2008, 09:10 PM

So I'm still at the begining of my love affair with my 05 R6. Took her for my fourth ride and 1st real expedition. I live in DC so roads to ride are near none, so I went north of Georgetown and made a left on MacAuthor (sp) took that out past Clara Barton Parkway and deep into MD. I'm still a newish rider so I'm still taking it pretty easy but I tried to push it a little bit today. I thought I was riding kinda hard a couple times until I noticed that I never got the bike over 8k rpm and never went past 3rd gear.Am I not riding right or is my bike really so badass that I need to find clearer roads to really ride it? Where can I find these roads? Where can I ride hard nad be sure that I ain't gonna run into Molly Minivan and her distracting kids?
  Send a message via AIM to  
Unread
  (#2)
Spike

March 23, 2008, 09:14 PM

I think you did just fine. You came back in one piece so what does it matter? My bike doesn't go much above 8k rpms as a constant but then I don't stay under 4th gear either. Maybe it was just the roads you are on. Also, keep in mind you need to be smooth first, speed will follow.

RIP Greg Walker, I will never forget you

If everybody thought before they spoke, the silence would be deafening