DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 497
3 members and 494 guests
GRN96WS6, MPSniper, Toecutter
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > HOW-TOs

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Installing HID on a bike
Unread
  (#1)
Stercus accidit
 
Harvey_TT600's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,628
Join Date: March 15, 2004
Location: Sterling VA BABY!
Installing HID on a bike - April 18, 2007, 07:17 PM

Ok I'm dumb I ordered a HID kit from ebay that another husqy rider recommended, i'm in the garage right now and the instructions are just a diagram

Anyone done this before or have a general how to they can point me at on the interweb, why do I do this to myself.

kthnks
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Harvey_TT600  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
Give me the Ban Button!
 
Nubbs's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,770
Join Date: October 16, 2006
Location: In a box
April 18, 2007, 08:18 PM

See post #5





MY SPELLING SUCKS....DEAL WITH IT



MyCanikon.net A place to hang out if you are interested in talking photography.

Last edited by Nubbs; April 18, 2007 at 10:10 PM..
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to Nubbs Send a message via AIM to Nubbs  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
GP Champ
 
R6speed's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,469
Join Date: February 10, 2007
Location: Virginia Beach VA
April 18, 2007, 09:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2o
The kit that I have installed in the past was just cu the old plug of and use those wires to power up the ijnitor for the HID plug the HID buld into the hid bax and install bulb.
huh?


http://www.dcsportbikes.net/photoplo...ull_finger.gif
"Ready your breakfast and eat hearty, for tonight we dine in HELL"

  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to R6speed Send a message via AIM to R6speed  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Give me the Ban Button!
 
Nubbs's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,770
Join Date: October 16, 2006
Location: In a box
April 18, 2007, 10:02 PM

WOW....That was bad.





MY SPELLING SUCKS....DEAL WITH IT



MyCanikon.net A place to hang out if you are interested in talking photography.
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to Nubbs Send a message via AIM to Nubbs  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
Give me the Ban Button!
 
Nubbs's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,770
Join Date: October 16, 2006
Location: In a box
April 18, 2007, 10:02 PM

OK.....I have installed a couple of kits on cars before. The kit that I used told me to cut the factory head light plug off. than you take the factory wires and install a new plug that they supplied. You than pluged that into the silver box the comes with the HID kit. Than you take the new HID bulb and plug that into the other plug on the box that came with the kit. It was very easy and quick. I do not know how it is on a bike but from what I have been told the kits are the same from car to bike.


Sorry for the brain fart in my first post.

D





MY SPELLING SUCKS....DEAL WITH IT



MyCanikon.net A place to hang out if you are interested in talking photography.

Last edited by Nubbs; April 18, 2007 at 10:09 PM..
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to Nubbs Send a message via AIM to Nubbs  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
Brilliant!!!
 
gran3smo's Avatar
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: May 22, 2006
Location: Harpers Ferry, Wv.
April 18, 2007, 10:24 PM

1. After you remove the old bulb, go ahead and seat the HID bulb in it's new home.

2. Mount your ballast box in a cozy spot (hopefully you bought one that has the ignitor built in)

3. plug the HID bulb into the ballast.

4.solder, electric tape, or use the original harness to plug the ballast to the stock wiring harness.

Turn it on and give the bulb about 10 seconds to warm up to full color.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
Give me the Ban Button!
 
Nubbs's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,770
Join Date: October 16, 2006
Location: In a box
April 18, 2007, 10:32 PM

Yea what he said! I used all my skills for the month on my paint write up.





MY SPELLING SUCKS....DEAL WITH IT



MyCanikon.net A place to hang out if you are interested in talking photography.
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to Nubbs Send a message via AIM to Nubbs  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
Railing!
 
Posts: 416
Join Date: April 1, 2007
Location: Odenton
April 19, 2007, 05:59 AM

mine were plug and play...
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Kevmo  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
coooooookie
 
Audicoupej's Avatar
 
Posts: 535
Join Date: March 10, 2007
Location: Binghamton, NY
April 19, 2007, 07:14 AM

This might help little bit: http://cbrworld.net/forums/thread/129227.aspx


John
'07 ZX-6R
NESBA #10
Sportbiketracktime #10

JEMM Auto detailing
Cars, Bikes, RV's, Trailers, bathtubs. If you pay me I will buff it.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
Stercus accidit
 
Harvey_TT600's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,628
Join Date: March 15, 2004
Location: Sterling VA BABY!
April 19, 2007, 07:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gran3smo
1. After you remove the old bulb, go ahead and seat the HID bulb in it's new home.
Done

Quote:
2. Mount your ballast box in a cozy spot (hopefully you bought one that has the ignitor built in)
Done

Quote:
3. plug the HID bulb into the ballast.
Done, now on the diagram it shows the ignitor being between the bulb wires and the ballast, but I dont see it, it looks like norwal wire to be me with two plugs in the middle that hook into the the two plugs coming from the bulb.

Quote:
4.solder, electric tape, or use the original harness to plug the ballast to the stock wiring harness.
I ran a wire from the ballast to the battery, the bulb is getting power because the little low/high beam shield in it moves when i hit the high beam button on the bike, but i'm not getting the bulb lit up.
Turn it on and give the bulb about 10 seconds to warm up to full color.

Last edited by Harvey_TT600; April 19, 2007 at 08:01 AM..
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to Harvey_TT600  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.