DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 486
4 members and 482 guests
2blueyam, boomboom929, car54, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > HOW-TOs

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
killed my kaw
Unread
  (#1)
GP Racer
 
islandboy's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,029
Join Date: April 26, 2006
Location: Alexandria
killed my kaw - August 16, 2007, 07:31 AM

sooo i was trying to install intergrated turn signals in my tail light so i have some signals to pass inspection so i can try to make to the "spot" tonight and while carryin out the task i killed my bike!!!

this is the play by play i took apart the rear to install the lights..and as you can see in the pic the intergrated lights only have one wire for each side to the direction said jus hook it up the the positive wire from the bike..when i hook it to the positive they jus came up and didnt blink jus ran yellow..so i decided to put both positive and negative to together and blew my turn signal fuse twice..changed it and tried again with the one wire jus negative still no go..then i turn the bike key to on and boom bike shuts down no lights nothing now my bike isnt doin anything, i dont have the manuall so i need to know where the main fuse is hoping that just blew. any suggestions on how the hell to get my bike back on and the lights workin!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo_081607_001.JPG (85.9 KB, 43 views)

Last edited by islandboy; August 16, 2007 at 07:35 AM..
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to islandboy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
#47 GODSPEED BAMBAM
 
dodge131's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,567
Join Date: May 31, 2006
Location: NOVA
August 16, 2007, 07:33 AM

WTF did you do to it? Check all the fuses!!!


www.RnRcycles.com


Home of RNR Repsol Racing.

Missing all my fallen friends and family! If Life Was Easy Then Everyone Would Do It!
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
GP Racer
 
islandboy's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,029
Join Date: April 26, 2006
Location: Alexandria
August 16, 2007, 07:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodge131
WTF did you do to it? Check all the fuses!!!
think i blew a fuse but it got dark and i couldnt do anymore to it last night...do you know where the main fuse box is. i basically already took apart the hol bike at this point but didnt get to look around due to darkness
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to islandboy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
Kat
Finally got a garage!
 
Kat's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,205
Join Date: March 24, 2006
Location: Fort Washington
August 16, 2007, 07:49 AM

Extension cord and lamps are your friend... Having gone YEARS without a garage, my neighbors will testify that extension cords and lamps will light up any late-night wrenching project.

I'd be surprised if you couldn't find your fusebox with an online search... Mine is under the main faring on the right side, I think. I make Cruiserhubby do the electricity.


**Sara**
"She wont be so fuckable covered in road rash." -boomchic00

"The whore force is strong in this one."
Kevers

BamBam, I miss you more than words can say.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
TEAM.SUKUZI
 
iceblizzxdc's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,529
Join Date: May 22, 2006
Location: alexandria
August 16, 2007, 08:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by islandboy
..when i hook it to the positive they jus came up and didnt blink jus ran yellow..so i decided to put both positive and negative to together and blew my turn signal fuse twice..changed it and tried again with the one wire jus negative still no go..then i turn the bike key to on and boom bike shuts down no lights nothing now my bike isnt doin anything..
Y the hell would you EVER do that????. You have to locate the old turn signal wires - then connect those...


sex addict

POWERED BY SUZUKI GSXR1000
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to iceblizzxdc  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
GP Racer
 
islandboy's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,029
Join Date: April 26, 2006
Location: Alexandria
August 16, 2007, 09:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceblizzxdc
Y the hell would you EVER do that????. You have to locate the old turn signal wires - then connect those...
yeh i got the turn signal wires but the wire from the new light only has 1 wire and when i put it to the positive turn signal the signals wasnt workin they was jus on like runnin lights
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to islandboy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
What failure looks like
 
nrcooled's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,499
Join Date: June 11, 2005
Location: Shirlington, VA
August 16, 2007, 11:04 AM

That's weird that there wasn't ground provided with the light. For the light to blink it works by switching the ground on and off repeatedly. Anyway, like everyone else said find the main fuse and see if it's dead. Figure out what type of fuse it is and go to Autozone/Pepboys/etc. and find the correct voltage and buy it.

After that you'll be all set.


'04 600RR - Street
'07 GSX-R 750 - Track only now
TPM #101 - Blue
NESBA #101 - Advanced
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to nrcooled  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
GP Racer
 
islandboy's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,029
Join Date: April 26, 2006
Location: Alexandria
August 16, 2007, 12:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrcooled
That's weird that there wasn't ground provided with the light. For the light to blink it works by switching the ground on and off repeatedly. Anyway, like everyone else said find the main fuse and see if it's dead. Figure out what type of fuse it is and go to Autozone/Pepboys/etc. and find the correct voltage and buy it.

After that you'll be all set.
after that the bike will be on, but i still need to get the signals workin????
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to islandboy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
got barrier?
 
dubplaya's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,860
Join Date: February 19, 2007
Location: Fairfax
August 16, 2007, 12:37 PM

you don't need turn signals to ride a bike....

but don't EVER connect negative and positive to the same spot ever again.

some fuses are normally near the battery, and some are up closer to the headlight.


DUCATI MONSTER
rubber ducky?!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to dubplaya  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
TEAM.SUKUZI
 
iceblizzxdc's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,529
Join Date: May 22, 2006
Location: alexandria
August 16, 2007, 12:38 PM

the integrated tail light only came with one wire?


sex addict

POWERED BY SUZUKI GSXR1000
  Facebook Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to iceblizzxdc  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
Bikeless... for now
 
The New guy's Avatar
 
Posts: 850
Join Date: June 6, 2006
Location: Springfield
August 16, 2007, 12:49 PM

I bought the same light and it was a pain in the ass due to the one wire. Use the resistors that came with the light. I think the main fuse is in the same fuse box as the other fuses, at least I think it is on my 06 636


My bike run's on snake oil.... thanks to BG.

'06 ZX-6R in blue
'93 Ninja EX500 (sold)
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
Ride the Metal Monster
 
dodeskjeggen's Avatar
 
Posts: 160
Join Date: April 29, 2007
Location: Arlington, VA
August 16, 2007, 12:51 PM

On my Ninja 500, the fuse box is under the seat, right behind the gas tank. I don't know if it's the same with the bigger ninjas, but it's worth a look.


2005 Ninja 500R - Sold!
2008 Honda CBR 600RR - Hulk Smashed!
2008 Honda CBR 600RR - Cloned. Better. Faster. Stronger.

Res ipsa loquitur. Let the good times roll.
  MySpace.com Page Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to dodeskjeggen  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#13)
GP Racer
 
islandboy's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,029
Join Date: April 26, 2006
Location: Alexandria
August 16, 2007, 12:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dubplaya
you don't need turn signals to ride a bike....

but don't EVER connect negative and positive to the same spot ever again.

some fuses are normally near the battery, and some are up closer to the headlight.
need to get the bike inspected!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to islandboy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#14)
GP Racer
 
islandboy's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,029
Join Date: April 26, 2006
Location: Alexandria
August 16, 2007, 01:00 PM

i checked the fuse near the battery it was good but bike isnt doin ANYTHING when i turn on the key
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to islandboy  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#15)
Eddie would go ...
 
Dutch's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,507
Join Date: April 16, 2006
August 16, 2007, 01:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by islandboy
need to get the bike inspected!

he was telling you that you dont need turn signals to pass inspection

Either NO turn signals at all

OR

DOT approved signals front and rear


smart rider goes to a friendly gas station....like Great Falls Exxon and tells them .net sent you...


Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
No one gives a fuck about your puff out your chest bravado.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.