DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:



Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 550
3 members and 547 guests
GRN96WS6, Slider, tonetone
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Sportbike Operation > HOW-TOs

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
TomTom Rider 2 GPS Worthless?
Unread
  (#1)
I hate Hybrid drivers
 
david636's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,780
Join Date: May 25, 2006
Location: Woodbridge, VA
TomTom Rider 2 GPS Worthless? - July 25, 2009, 11:05 PM

I bought a TomTom Rider 2 for my trip. The website said you can plan your route on your PC then send it to the GPS via USB cable. I figured i could plan my route in MS Streets and trips and send it the GPS. Well i found out today that with all the technological advances, this isn't one of them. You have to plan your route on TomTom's website. I tried it out, you can't enter longitude and latitude coordinates, just addresses and it seems i can't enter multiple stops on the same route... seriously, that is the stupidest shit i have ever seen, heard or have been told .

So this thing is basically worthless to me. I can't import from a 3rd party map. I can't use Long and Lat, some of my stops are in the middle of no where with no fixed address. I might at well just use a Rand McNally printed map with this lack of integrated technology.

I am a GPS virgin so someone please tell me i am doing it wrong or this thing will be on Craigslist in a matter of days and i'll be doing the ride old school.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#2)
GP Champ
 
LooseTooth's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,521
Join Date: October 24, 2006
Location: Falls Church
July 25, 2009, 11:20 PM

lat lon to address converter..

http://stevemorse.org/jcal/latlon.php


http://www.ja-gps.com.au/tomtom_rider2_1.htm

Choice of 3D or 2D maps on a smooth-scrolling display. The crystal clear,
glove-friendly, anti-glare touchscreen has a sun visor to ensure an optimal view at all times. You will receive clear spoken instructions in your preferred language to your destination, but if you decide to take a quick detour, your RIDER immediately recalculates and adjusts its route description. You can enter multiple destinations, and be guided to each one in turn


"Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can." - Arthur Ashe
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#3)
TPG Bannings: III
 
Posts: 2,237
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: Frederick, MD.
July 26, 2009, 02:47 AM

I went from a TomTom to a Garmin Nuvi for this very reason.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#4)
GP Racer
 
Posts: 1,422
Join Date: June 20, 2006
Location: Sterling, Va
July 26, 2009, 05:46 AM

CEaton is right David...Go with a Garmin!! I have heard mixes on the TomToms and most of them say they aren't worth buying. Is there anyway you can return the one you bought and recoup your losses? Sorry this happened to you, but good luck and stay safe on your trip!!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to java927  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#5)
TPG - screw face
 
Oneway's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,720
Join Date: June 17, 2008
Location: Manassas
July 26, 2009, 01:12 PM

$85 Garmin Nuvi

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/m...289544358.html
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#6)
SUPERBITCHIN'
 
{SALVA}'s Avatar
 
Posts: 6,638
Join Date: September 2, 2008
Location: Ombelico del Mondo
July 26, 2009, 04:13 PM

sucks man, also today I was testing the tracking and it stopped pinging me for 1.5 hrs in the country side of va...


E che cazzo!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to {SALVA}  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#7)
TPG Bannings: III
 
Posts: 2,237
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: Frederick, MD.
July 26, 2009, 07:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oneway View Post

Has to be a Nuvi 750+ for custom routing, I got a refurb 750 with 2009 maps for about 160 a few months ago, took a while to get used to it for group rides, but I love it.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#8)
I hate Hybrid drivers
 
david636's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,780
Join Date: May 25, 2006
Location: Woodbridge, VA
July 26, 2009, 08:25 PM

Wow, it's even worse than i thought. Using TomTom's online planner only allows you to send either the destination or starting point to your device. Super fucking worthless.

I should have asked before i bought this paper weight.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#9)
Has an idiot exemption
 
Triple X's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,501
Join Date: September 29, 2002
Location: Stephens City, VA
July 26, 2009, 08:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by david636 View Post

I should have asked before i bought this paper weight.
I thought you did in another thread?
Garmin FTW


Steve
2015 Yamaha R1
2011 Harley Electra Glide Limited
2009 Yamaha Zuma 125
2006 Honda CRF150F
2004 Honda CRF150F Monster
2003 Honda CRF 150F Mini-monster
www.cornerspeed.net
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#10)
I hate Hybrid drivers
 
david636's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,780
Join Date: May 25, 2006
Location: Woodbridge, VA
July 26, 2009, 08:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveZX9 View Post
I thought you did in another thread?
Garmin FTW
well then i should listen next time.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#11)
Has an idiot exemption
 
Triple X's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,501
Join Date: September 29, 2002
Location: Stephens City, VA
July 26, 2009, 08:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by david636 View Post
well then i should listen next time.
LOL
You still up for an Ohio trip?


Steve
2015 Yamaha R1
2011 Harley Electra Glide Limited
2009 Yamaha Zuma 125
2006 Honda CRF150F
2004 Honda CRF150F Monster
2003 Honda CRF 150F Mini-monster
www.cornerspeed.net
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#12)
I hate Hybrid drivers
 
david636's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,780
Join Date: May 25, 2006
Location: Woodbridge, VA
July 26, 2009, 09:16 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveZX9 View Post
LOL
You still up for an Ohio trip?
yeah but i cant until sept. out of town for 3 weeks starting this coming weekend. Early sept. is good for me.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#13)
SUPERBITCHIN'
 
{SALVA}'s Avatar
 
Posts: 6,638
Join Date: September 2, 2008
Location: Ombelico del Mondo
July 27, 2009, 08:57 AM

Hey Hey...I want to go to ohio...


E che cazzo!
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via AIM to {SALVA}  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#14)
facebook what is that?
 
gixxernoob's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,203
Join Date: March 19, 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
July 27, 2009, 09:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveZX9 View Post
I thought you did in another thread?
Garmin FTW
+1 on Garmin!


\O/
/ /
|\ Seattle Mariners
/ |
  Send a message via AIM to Send a message via Yahoo to gixxernoob  
Reply With Quote
Unread
  (#15)
I hate Hybrid drivers
 
david636's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,780
Join Date: May 25, 2006
Location: Woodbridge, VA
July 27, 2009, 12:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LooseTooth View Post
lat lon to address converter..

http://stevemorse.org/jcal/latlon.php


http://www.ja-gps.com.au/tomtom_rider2_1.htm

Choice of 3D or 2D maps on a smooth-scrolling display. The crystal clear,
glove-friendly, anti-glare touchscreen has a sun visor to ensure an optimal view at all times. You will receive clear spoken instructions in your preferred language to your destination, but if you decide to take a quick detour, your RIDER immediately recalculates and adjusts its route description. You can enter multiple destinations, and be guided to each one in turn
you can now get log and lat from google maps. before they wouldn't give it to you but now the XML structure that lists all the POI in the area are located with long and lat.

To find long and lat on a google map, right click on the area you want to know the long and lat, select the "what's here" option from the drop down. The long and lat will show up in the search box above the map. But i think it's listed as lat, long for some reason.
  Send a message via AIM to  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2002-2010 by DCSportbikes.net. DCSportbikes.net is owned by End of Time Studios, LLC.