DCSportbikes.net  
» Help Support .NET!
DCSportbikes Premier Membership for 25$ per year. Discounts! Click here for full information.

Now available in the .NET Shop:

Get your DCSBN Gear!
» Shoutbox
Sorry, only registered users have the ability to use our real-time shoutbox to chat with other members.

Register now, it's free!
» Online Users: 557
0 members and 557 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 4,519, September 2, 2015 at 03:26 AM.
Go Back   DCSportbikes.net > Brand Specific > Supermotoz/Offroad

LinkBack Thread Tools
First Off Road/Trail Bike Advice
Unread
  (#1)
Railing!

First Off Road/Trail Bike Advice - November 2, 2015, 07:53 PM

Have some questions for all you hare scramble, woods, trail riding guys:

I have recently caught the trail riding bug thanks to some awesome hare scramble vids, but I have ZERO knowledge about off road bikes. I want to pickup something I can rip around on in the mountains/woods and maybe do a hare scramble race here or there next year with possibly some light MX tossed in. So closer to 80% trails / 20% MX. What would you all consider a good starter bike?

Im mainly going for something that is sub $3000 ($2000ish if I can make it happen!), on the lower end of the intensive maintenance spectrum, has good overall power (but doesn't need to blow me away as Im new to dirt), and would suit a 6' / 185b rider.

From what I have read, a 250 4stroke would suit me well, so I am eyeing a 2008 KTM 250 XCF-W for under $3000, but I don't have a lick of knowledge about them and heard they can be expensive if they break. I have also looked at the CRF 250x and WR250f which both seem to receive good reviews. Then of course there are the two strokes which I don't know jack shit about and keep reading conflicting ideas on their cost of maintenance and suitability for trails. Some say adding a flywheel weight will make them the perfect trail bike, some say they'll still suck and adding the weight is a bad idea.